You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can Smarter Computer Matchmaking Algorithms Help With Finding True Love?

in #life8 years ago

I recently signed up for "Match.com" and was shocked to find out how many of my supposed "matches" were nothing more than scam artists. I would estimate that at least half of the supposed "matches" generated by that site fell into that category. And the thing was that of all of the matches generated for my profile 90% of the good looking ones were the scammers. The remaining matches were of people I would never consider asking out due to their appearance (I'm not totally hung up on looks but the fact of the matter it is a primary factor in picking a potential date with someone you've never met before). Based on my experience on Match.com I would caution anyone that is thinking about using an on-line dating service to be very careful and do your homework. There are at least a couple of web pages out there that publish dossiers on both male and female dating scammers so it's pretty easy to take your "matches" and cross reference them to see if your lining yourself up to be a potential victim (their goal is ALWAYS to get money from you).

Sort:  

Yeah unfortunately matchmaking is a place where you can be vulnerable and taken advantage of pretty easily if youre not careful. There are ways to avoid it though, and with most things if it is too good to be true it might be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44