You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Kind of World Do We Want to Live In?

in #life8 years ago

I agree with your idea's premise, but not its efficacy. Ideally, a system could be built from the ground up, inclusive of all the basic points you list. However, some are not so do-able. We will never live in a world without violence, and even more-so, developing a fun agreeable environment for some, often leads to the opposite for others. I like your idea, and I agree that bunking outside the box, like Gary did is necessary, but that doesn't necessarily mean reinvent the wheel. In some cases, we can start with one system and iterate to something we actually like

Sort:  

Certainly that may be possible. But the current system places so many unnecessary restraints on progress and problem-solving. I tend to think that if society creates a more functional model that is capable of really making some positive difference, then governments will either adapt or become less relevant. The nation-state box is not the only way to look at this and I'm ready to step beyond it. Easier said than done? Perhaps, but we need to start somewhere.

I don't like this argument. Well, its really just a statement I guess. What makes you know beyond any doubt that we will never live in a world without violence? Just because it seems like we never have, doesnt mean we never will. Thats merely an opinion, albeit a common one, but to me it has not been proven that we cannot create a world without violence. I actually think it is inevetible as we learn from our mistakes and evolve over time. Why is it not possible? One of the first hurtles to overcome is this idea that it is impossible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44