No news=Good news? Is this true?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

What do I miss the most about being a teenager? Certainly the lack of responsibility is up there on my list. However, coming in at a strong number one, would have to be my indifference to politics and world events. In my own little world, even drama one street over didn't affect me.

As I got older/wiser, I picked up what I considered to be more mature habits. Drinking coffee, subscribing to the local and state level newspapers, scratching lottery tickets...bad-news.jpg

I also noticed, that I wasn't any happier than I was when I was 15 and free. Despite having everything I wanted. I was in the Army, had a lot of friends, a new Chevy truck... Always had cash in my pocket. No curfew!

When I really sit back, and try to focus on the exact moment I stopped living vicariously in my 15 year old self, I can pinpoint an exact time, date, and location where everything got more stressful.

September 11th, 2001.

5cae07bbb5901718b1f9a2cb4081e2dd.jpg

I was 19 years old, living in Budingen, Germany. Cleaning weapons in the barracks.

It wasn't just the attack on our freedoms that changed my otherwise positive outlook on the world. It was the subsequent 24/7 news coverage that did that.

See, after 9/11, I felt that in order to protect myself and my loved ones... I needed to keep an eye on global events. I had to be acquainted with places to stay away from, and the nationality, race, or religion of people to be wary of.

Moving forward 16 years up through this last election cycle... I continued to stay “informed”. This caused me the worst possible strife. I had two sides to choose from, and had family and friends on both sides of the aisle.

United we stand, divided we fall.

It wasn't until May, 2017 that I finally quit the media. No more click-bait on Yahoo!, no more Twitter, no more political arguments on Facebook. I literally, and figuratively stopped, 'Keeping up with the Kardashians'. And never felt better.

lezici-kocka.jpg

Please stay tuned! Tomorrow- I will give you 3 bulletproof, unarguable reasons, on why you should quit the media. And I think you will agree with me.

_Rob

Sort:  

Great post. I am intrigued and staying tuned in until tomorrow...

Thanks for reading, I appreciate it!

(I also owe you a vote, when I get it back to 100%)

_Rob

You deserved the upvote. I don't put them out just to get them back, but if you think any of my posts are upvote worthy then I won't say no to that :)

I got you yesterday on your introduction :)

I am the same way... voting is not 'quid pro quo', with me.

_Rob

And, thanks!

_Rob

It wasn't until May, 2017 that I finally quit the media. No more click-bait on Yahoo!, no more Twitter, no more political arguments on Facebook. I literally, and figuratively stopped, 'Keeping up with the Kardashians'. And never felt better.

I don't know how anyone can keep their sanity with all of the noise going on these days, let alone get anything done lol.

You had a really mature response to 9/11, far better than mine was at such a young age. It's unfortunate that so many news outlets aren't interesting in informing us about things that matter, instead we get polluted with worthless ranting.

@teslalifestyle

Thanks for your comment.

Worthless ranting is correct. They have to keep you tuned in for the ratings!

(I owe you an upvote, currently regenerating my voting power).

_Rob

no worries Rob

Congratulations @rcarter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56