3 Minute Drone Recap of my Hawaii Trip 🎥

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I just got back from a 2 week trip to Oahu and Kauai and sifted through hours of footage to make this 3 minute video. I hope you guys & gals enjoy! Spoiler: There's lots of drone footage.


I find that too often people spend their life worrying about their 9-5, just for their prime years to pass them by. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing wrong with having a stable job, but if you find yourself not taking PTO just to get a higher rating on your year end review and maybe a marginal raise, I think it may be time to take a step back and reevaluate.

Admittedly, I've been a workaholic. I got a job in high school, continued working through college, and moved on to my cushy 6-figure full time position 2 weeks after graduating college.

I had been there 3 years, making good money and in a high engineering position, when I decided it's time to take some risks, travel a bit, and live my life. My last day with the company was June 2nd, and I'm currently in the process of starting my own company. I need the flexibility to work anywhere, at my own hours, and the ability to take vacations when my personal timing works.

This trip to Hawaii was right before my last days at Sophos. It further confirmed my feelings of wanting to be a nomadic worker with freedom that I just couldn't get at my 9-5.

So today I challenge you. Not to quit your job, but to live everyday. To take advantage of this time you have and live every day to its fullest.

Follow along for more travel videos: @rborn

Sort:  

Wow. This is incredible work. I have traveled a lot and have always deliberated the option of buying a drone. This footage has now made me a lot more inclined towards making that purchase.

Excellent editing otherwise. You get my vote and follow :)

Thank you! I would definitely recommend getting a drone. They're not that expensive anymore and the resulting video is amazing

I love the risk you decided to take this early in your career/life and you will very likely be rewarded for it. I wish I would have been as wise as you with regard to not letting work take over your life as early as you discovered this. "Work to live, don't live to work!" That is an amazing drone video.

Thanks so much! Yes, that is a great slogan and a mantra that is often forgotten. It's something I've wanted to do for a while, and I'm tremendously excited to have taken the leap.

Glad you like it 😊

Absolutely epic work here. You've created magic here, so good! Best of success to you in starting your company, to me being a nomadic worker is living the dream. Following you and looking forward to seeing your new adventure roll out.

Thank you! It was scary taking the leap, but I'm excited for what the future holds.

I like the edits and I'm trying to get into making videos myself. What editing software do you use?

This was actually just using iMovie haha I usually use Premier Pro, but my computer with the software/license is kaput

Ohh I see, yeah I've always wanted to use iMovie because it seems user friendly but I have Windows

Love the drone images and what a perfect location to capture on film. Wishing you every success in your new business venture and being a nomadic worker. Following you to keep in touch with your new journey. Cheers.🌹🍷🌹

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60514.11
ETH 3335.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48