Write it down

in #life6 years ago

What I love about writing down things and ideas and lists is that you can review them later and get that bizarre feeling that someone else wrote it. It's really another of those things that we're so good at tricking ourselves into: that we will always feel or think this way.

Sometimes I don't feel like writing down a thought or idea just because I know I will never forget this idea or that it's so inate to me that it's almost pointless to write it down. Kind of like writing down my own name. What would even be the point of that?

a.jpg

Then sometimes I do it and I sometimes get back on it and I'm amazed at how different it feels than what I normally write but also how fresh or - at times - stupid can be. What was I even thinking when...I dunno, but it's cool to read anyway!

Ultimately, for me, the process of writing down is a process of anchoring what is important into my mind. I think that I am already very haywired to think a certain way but - most disturbingly - to react a certain way. Unlearning and re-packaging my responses is very difficult and a very conscious process. It needs constant supervision and will-power. It needs insights and then it needs habit-forming repetition. All this is very hard for me to monitor and implement without something written as a reminder.

If I don't do that, I'm always starting from 0. Like the pre-writing civilizations, I am doomed to stagnation as there is no passing of the knowledge to the next generation. Yesterday-me was a genius, but today-me will never know save for a vague feeling that "more" was had. Without a written ledger, what's certain anyway?

Sort:  

I could not agree more. I see writing as my own Pensieve (Harry Potter) where I can permanently store not only the memory but also the feelings I was feeling in that moment. When I look back and read about it, it is as though I am reliving the whole thing.

It also helps me be a petty asshole who never forgets about who wronged me and how I felt about it hahahhahah.

omg this is so true!! A pensieve would be amazing!!!

And that's exactly the reason why blockchain is scary! After 7 days we can't change what we wrote FOR EVER!! It blows my mind.
The process of unlearning is important, but I'm not sure I want to share it with the world.

It is a bit like life, can't change the past :P

Very well written, writing down your thoughts or ideas is very important. When you write it down and go back to it later, you are always fascinated by your thoughts like you said you get a feeling that someone else wrote it, or you can say oh what was thinking when I wrote this down. The goodness is you can always adjust or improve on what you had previously written down.

The thing is : I do feel like I should write my name down sometimes :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56299.59
ETH 2984.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22