What is stopping you?!

in #life6 years ago

"We're all superheroes in our dreams, aren't we?".
I remember thinking I would do so much if only I had a little more.
More what?
Time.
Money.
Will.
Hearing.
Friends.
Personality.
Charm.

images111.jpg

The list was neverending and compelling. Oh, I would do so much if ONLY!. It was also very comforting.
I could be everything in my mind, do nothing in my real life and feel no inner conflict. I had my cake. I ate it too.
I also grew for shit.
Once I started to look closer to the reasons and face them truly, I kind of realized that I was not a great dreamer but a great bullshiter. Which might be cool, if it weren't for the fact that I was bullshit myself.

I met with a friend today and we talked about what happend in our lives recently. He traveled in 2 countries, met someone I've always wanted to meet, swam in a cold ocean and a few other stuff I can;'t mention here. Just in the last 7 months.
A few of those things were on my list, a few others were just added.
If I get a longer holiday.
If Steem goes to 100$.
If....

Not all reasons are false. Life is full of constraints. But the issue to be me is this: I am not sure I can tell which is self-imposed and an excuse and which one is real. I start to wonder how much of my beliefs were limiting.

It reminds me of that old movie, The Sphere. Gifted with this alien object that could make all our dreams come true, the people chose to manifest their nightmares. They were not ready for this power and use it like children, in fear. Maturity comes from these lessons of loss and missed opportunities.

I am not sure what's next but I start to wonder more and more:
What's the worst that could happen if I do that?
Is this my fear speaking or is something more?

Answers.
Questions.
Growth.

Sort:  

Life is full of constraints. But the issue to be me is this: I am not sure I can tell which is self-imposed and an excuse and which one is real. I start to wonder how much of my beliefs were limiting.

The million dollar question. I've been trying to find the answers. Then again, Who the hell hasn't? Do my beliefs hinder growth? Do I consistently stop from taking risk in the face of uncertainty because of what is uncertain? Or do I use fear as an excuse not to do anything different? How do you know what's what?

Damn. Great post. Thanks.

haha. Great comment.
Lots of questions. We need answers!!!

As many of the best say....Just do it!!!!

Haha: speaking of which, have you read "Shoedog"?!

No and never knew about it until I just searched it up. Looks like it has some great reviews. Will have to put it on my list to read. How was it?

Wow. That post was totally epic. I struggle with the same thing. I wonder sometimes if I am just half waying my life and where the other half went. LuckIy there is more time and the way I see it the future is still there for the taking.

You know what they say: days are long but years are short.
But I think so too, the future is there for the taking...until it isn't!
Damn, this was supposed to be an uplifting comment!!

PS: Thank you for the compliment, means a lot!!!

I have benefited a lot from this post thank you so much brother

I just finished reading a play by Eugene O'Neill - The Iceman Cometh - which is , basically, the story of some people who hang out in a bar all day, everyday, get wasted and talk about what they'll do...tomorrow.
They're always just a few steps away from achieving their dreams. But they're pipe dreams, man , they'll never happen.
Your post kinda reminded me of that. I think we don't do a lot of things for fear of failure...what if we fuck up? So, to answer, nothing is stopping us, in theory.
But, to be honest, fear is what stops most of us, dead in our tracks.

Well... dreaming comes with a very high price. It’s not even failure, it’s all those other things one gives up. Probably dreaming is the number one reason why I’m broke and alone, living in the middle of the woods and still very happy . Anyway, be careful of what you dream of, dreams tend to come true.

I do not understand why they do not vote me :(

No, ne dam demisia de la scarbici sa calatorim in Europa? Traim din blogging si shitcoin-uri care cresc cu 1000%. Ce zici? :))

Im pretty sure "fear of failure" is the N1 reason that people quit.

You reminded me of that episode of Seinfeld where George comes to the conclusion that every decision he has ever made was wrong and then commits to doing the exact opposite of what he thinks he should do and of course he has great successes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41