The Joy of loving-kindness. A daily exercise to be more happy.

in #life7 years ago

Hello, all!

I'm reading a lot these days, particularly Tim Ferriss latest book: Tools of Titans! I confess I do not like Tim all that much necessarily but this book is beyond amazing. It can change someone's life if one commits to it. A great gift for yourself or the people in your life who care about self-improvement.


think of others!

So, I came upon this technique that is so easy to apply that basically anyone can by the time they finish reading this post [ hey! don't go now! ]. It's called " loving-kindness". It takes exactly 10 seconds.

The idea is to look or think about a person and say to yourself( in your mind ) “I wish for this person to be happy". That is all. Just do it for 10 seconds and move on. This tip is from Chade-Meng “Meng” Tan, a Google pioneer and author and many other awesome things. Google him.

Another variation of this is to do it like that:
" Once an hour, every hour, randomly identify two people walking past your office and secretly wish for each of them to be happy. You don’t have to do or say anything—just think, “I wish for this person to be happy.” <--- from the book. This is a bit harder I guess but it seems to be working. Many people report that they had the happiest day in weeks by employing this thing.

And why? For me, it seems to force me to think about other people somewhat emphatically. To look at a person and consider his/hers happiness. How does this look, I wonder. Can I help? And coming back to me, what does my own happiness look like?
Doing this daily, as a habit, can change how you see anyone.

Tim suggest another version of this, by incorporating into a meditation practice and just sit with a person or two in mind and wish them to be happy. No need to do more.

Try it. What do you got to lose?

I wish YOU to be happy.
R.

Sort:  

I agree on it's going to probably change the way you see that person you wished for. I guess the extrem would be to wish happyness to people you dont like at all :-) I'm not sure if I could sacrifice my ego and do that. Ok I start with you Raz, I wish you to be happy :)

thanks! you're doing it right. The idea is to do it with strangers. So no actual feelings attached.

Yeah happy wishes all round! Will check out this book!

it's really mind blowing at times but pretty heavy read. it's more of a book that you read a chapter and think about it for a time then another. maybe you discover some interesting people to follow or think it's total horseshit!! but a great gift eitherway!
thanks! I wish you happy chillies!

HAppy chillies, thats more like it, we should co-author a book in which we wish the spiciest of lives on folk!!

Didn't know Tim is into Buddhism but it makes sense. Once you finish Tools of Titans I highly recommend to read Diamond Cutter, by Geshe Michael Roach (there is even a Romanian translation of it, if you want). It's on the same lines with what you wrote in this blog, but on a much deeper level.

I wish for you to be happy as well :)

It's on the list for me for some time now!!
The thing with this book is that he basically distilled wisdom from all his podcasts guests so some stuff he applies some he doesn't...but it's there. if you want to go deeper. it's a book that keeps on giving. I think you'll enjoy it!

Great Book! I listen to the Tim Ferriss Show Podcast semi-regularly where alot of the interviews in that book occurred.

Love that image! Perfect.

I LOVE THE CLIPART!

It combines my love of the F word with the message of being kind. It's totally me. LOL
I have been practicing random acts of kindness for years and...for a little self-promotion, I've got a #payitforward initiative going until the end of the year to help Steemians in need. I cannot give much but I can be nice and I can give my time and attention. Thank you for your post! It's a great message.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Spirit of Joy
Joy.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97