The biggest gap...

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I feel that I have a lot of knowledge on a lot of subjects. If we were to talk about stuff, you might think that I'm informed. If you pay attention though, you might notice that a lot of what I do is book-knowledge.

Here's something I say often: "the biggest gap in the world is between people who know and people who DO". Because, doing is the key, knowing is having an idea how the key might look. It's good, but won't open that many doors.

Derek Sivers says: "IF (more) INFORMATION WAS THE ANSWER, THEN WE’D ALL BE BILLIONAIRES WITH PERFECT ABS". Bingo!

Let me give you one example. I have this friend who's into meditation. I, too, am interested in meditation. I know a lot about meditation because I read and listened to a lot of meditation-related stuff. He knows he wants to meditate so he does. That was one year ago.
Meanwhile, I managed to log in maybe 5 hours of meditation while he: went to 2 10days meditation retreat, meditate at least 20 minutes daily ( aka actually has a daily practice ) and incorporate meditation-like states in his day to day to life to lower stress and increase his awareness. I know all this because I've met with him recently and I was impressed by the actual, noticeable change in his behavior. I asks what happened and he says it's a lot about meditation and how it changes his views and demeanor. Then he asks me: " Why are you stuck? ".

A good question.

Sort:  

Hello @razvanelulmarin,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Getting information from the internet, is like trying to take a drink from a fire hydrant.

Said someone, once :-)

Cg

haha! cool image!!

Lolz, it would be quite a comical sight :-)

Cg

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65