Patience

in #life5 years ago

Time is a tricky thing and for me, waiting is pain. In fact waiting on anyone is the number one way to get me annoyed. I am not sure why, but I have very strict waiting rules because I can ruin any event where I have to wait on people.
But generally waiting is annoying: for things to happen, for cakes to bake, for my skin to look amazing, to get a package...

In the grander sense, I feel that wanting things fast is a sign of immaturity cause a lot of human experience is in time. Anything that is worth having or building takes time and each step over time is what makes it. I focus on this idea more these days and I find that each experience can be seen through this prism:

  • Losing weight is a process of time and patience and good habits
  • Gaining strength is a process of small but constant improvements in what you can lift or how many times
  • Skincare is a long process of keeping healthy skin and learning what's best for you, the results are usually rewarding 10-20 years from now

And so on so forth.

Yet I struggle cause I like for something to happen fast and decisive so I can move on to the next thing.
And here again I have to ask: to what end?

I hope time will also reveal this.

Maybe sooner than later if possible!

Sort:  

In the grander sense, I feel that wanting things fast is a sign of immaturity

Not at all, wanting things fast is simply giving into deep evolutionary processes. Back in the cave man days we lived in an immediate feedback environment.

Hunt, eat, shelter, be warm...

Now modern society is set up so that most of us live in a delayed feedback environment, work, get paid, save money, go on holiday, etc.

Yet biological evolution does not move as fast as societal evolution, so we are stuck whereby we know intellectually it is better to wait for most things, yet it feels better to get them NOW!

Cg

Actually great answer!! thanks a lot

Hey @razvanelulmarin glad to see you here still posting! Hope you are doing well.
Bitdollar

Hey man! not as often but I try to! Thanks for checking in, hope you're well too!!

Thanks brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72