On an invincible summer

in #life7 years ago


This is my favorite quote of all time. I think of it dearly and often and try to make it more than just that: a kind of motto, a constant reminder, something to aspire to..
Sadly, this became very popular lately and it kind of cheapens it but I still think that most people don't really understand it in truth. Most people seems to think that it means that you'll do alright in every situation no matter how bad it will be. And maybe, to some extent, this is what it says.

To me, it talks about self-discovery. It's about "I FOUND". And When I think deeply about it, I wonder if I really did find out and - more worryingly - if I would find, or what. The test of winter must be passed and the discovery must be real, or else is all words. This doesn't mean that I crave a winter or that I fear it is coming. It only mean that it's somewhat inevitable.
As they say "Winter is coming".

Cause really, no matter what you do, you can not protect yourself fully from winter. We are humans, we are prone to loss, damage, pain, accidents and bad luck. We are prone to have something happen to us. And when that "something" is bad, we must make a decision.
It's very in line with my stoic views on pre-meditation and that how we react to any event is what makes us, not the even itself. I'm very attached to this belief. But I am not fully tested.

In the "last winter" I did fight for my inner summer. At times, I have lost it. At times, I was lost to myself in the cold. At times, I've seen the sun and kept going, hoping. And hopeless. And hoping again. I am fucking glad that it passed. But I do wonder how well I'll fare for other kind of "winters".

It's easy to feel the summer in your in summer. That's the truth, getting cocky and sure of yourself when it's "easy" it's recipe to be crushed. I try to stay mindful and humble. I try to grow and cultivate my inner summer. Sometimes it's not working. Sometimes I feel I'm making progress.

Deep down. I fear a bit that I'm not doing enough. That I'm soft. Memories of past failures.
But I carry on with my plan. It's the only way and what's more:
An invincible summer within sounds lovely.

Sort:  

Being soft isn't a flaw, and only by remembering past failures you can grow as a person and be a better version of your self. There will be more winters, but i think that it gets easier to tolerate winters eventually, when you focus on summer :)

I believe this to be so true. We go through cycles of seasons in our lives. There are times we are planting seeds, times we are harvesting, times we are watering, and times we need to be patient. This is a great unique post that really makes you think. Great insight here @razvanelulmarin. Always good to stay mindful and humble.

do you know where it came from?

Albert Camus. It was in a letter he wrote:

My dear,
In the midst of hate, I found there was, within me, an invincible love.
In the midst of tears, I found there was, within me, an invincible smile.
In the midst of chaos, I found there was, within me, an invincible calm.
I realized, through it all, that…
In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.
And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.

Truly yours,
Albert Camus

Camus will do.

What a nice post,i really think we all have our invincible summer within us during our personal winter,it lovely!!!

Nice writing, interesting introspection, good point of view!

Seara frumoasa and Ⓢ ⓣ ⓔ ⓔ ⓜ Ⓞ ⓝ, you're good at this👍

This is a really thoughtful quote. Although I myself almost mis-understood your intended meaning......

But now I think it sounds better. I'd rather call it a motivation..... yes truly winter is inevitable and that is why there is need for the "invincible summer hidden within"
Kiddos to you for such a thoughtful quote

I think it is to still find something to be grateful about in bad times, to have an inner piece, even in difficult circumstances.
Thanks for sharing this nice post

I like your post.read your quotations and understood much for itself necessary, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74