"Martisor" or the first day of spring

in #life7 years ago

SPRING IS HERE!
HOOREY!
Too bad the weather did not hear the news and it is snowing like crazy. However, we have this tradition or "thing" of giving a little gift to girl with a red and white string called "martisor". Well, dunno exactly why and all that jazz but every first of March, boys all around the country bring girls they "like" or "love" or "know and work with and need to be polite" a little token of appreciation and as a symbol that spring has come!

In the last days, what is a traditional "martisor" evolved a lot and people start doing their own things with creativity and a nice fun vibe and that's my style. I'll show you here what a few nice ones look like in case you want to see.
If not, just upvote and move on and wish you a Happy Spring!

images9.jpg

Why exactly a white and red strings is unclear. Apparently some old pagan maybe tradition symbolising like vitality and victory because people used to start wars in March, probably because the weather was nicer and war and all is better when you are not freezing cold I guess. No matter, it is the custom now and we do not think of WAR!.

We have a lot of fairs now and you can find some really cool ones if you look for. Most of the cheap common ones are kitch and bleah to me so I like to find a few special ones. Here's my top 3 selection:

This cute long dog. Notice the string, that's how you knw what it is. But the cool part is that you can wear it later like a nice fashion accesory.

A cute handdrawn lion! I did not go with a theme but it just happened!!

And my favorite..

Don't forget to take your pills!
Everyone needs to chill a little, right?


I've seen many more cool but these ones were my favorite and I hope whoever receive them will appreciate them and love them until the end of days. Dunno exactly what girls do with the "martisoare" after the day is off. They usually wear them on the clothes for a few days then put them in a big box with all the martisoare they ever received.
I never received one. It is sad.
But I heard there are parts of countries where girls give martisoare to GUYS! omg omg omg, sounds amazing...but no, those people are probably weird. Not that is bad but come on.

Even so, would be nice to get one.

Let the spring begin though!!

Sort:  

I don't know what spring you are talking about but whenever I exit the building after work I feel like going outside the GoT Wall of the North :))
Spor!

:)) well said!!

I give martisoare to everyone :)

Sa ai o primavara frumoasa si spumoasa ^^

Man, I have frozen my behind off the past couple of days in -12 degrees C temperatures coupled with icy cold winds. So I am pretty chilled thank you very much :)

we all are :D wear a hat!!

O primăvară frumoasă îți doresc! :D

I was talking earlier with a friend from Moldavia who told me that over there, men get "martisoare" too. I was remarking on the fact that he was also wearing a red&white bracelet and he said it's quite common that everyone gets "martisoare"...makes sense, doesn't it? :)

Anyway, happy spring!

I already mentioned those weird people :D

Where is it the giraffe? My favourite is also the Wiener-Dog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72