Evolving

in #life6 years ago

In theory everyone is looking forward to being more themselves. A mature individual is one that by now ( and that can happen at almost any age between say..28 and 50, and those people under 25 who think are "so mature for their age" can please comment how I am incorrect and I will be totally ok with that [I'm not]) understand who he/she is.

A person with flaws and strengths, with a certain experience and a background, some education or lack of and going forward can accept more or less, that this is the person that makes "him". It's from now on a lifelong effort of becoming better at can become better at and accept that some things can never change. A big part of it is accepting that some people will never like this or that about you and that is super ok and the effort to convince those people otherwise is lost and foolish.

In the end, it's more about shifting priorities and a focus on things that matter.

Problem is - for me - that at the end you're still..well, you. You know how you sometimes see people you haven't seen in year and they're like..pretty much the same. Sure, they are married or successful or whatever but they are still..them. The big traits did not change much. The talkers still talk, the funny ones are still funny, the grumpy one..well, probably still grumpy, the assholes..maybe less so but. In the end, they are recognizable.

Yeah, some people do manage to change but most people don't want. I get that, I am too so attached to myself that chaining is meeeh. Why?
matt.jpg
But there's another part of me that is sad that we only live one life and only as one character and the rest is just a mystery. Books and movies is all we have for insight into other people's life and those are so imperfect. I'm like...I lived 30+ years as me, can I try something else and see how I like it?
But that's scary in itself as who would be this new person and what happens with "me". Like if you had a cerebral accident and your whole personality would change, would that be good? Probably not.

But I'd like to think that maybe there are ways that we can grow so much that we literally become a different person.

Sort:  

One of my professors is college did a study where he assessed women's college photos to see if they had frown lines, those who were frowners in college were all divorced or single and miserable decades later.

Congratulations @razvanelulmarin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83