Enough grasshopping

in #life6 years ago

Meditation.
The Final Frontier?!

Maybe not but it's clear that taming our minds is possibly a very important step in achieving anything resembling peace, tranquility etc. It can be done in countless ways but I think, ultimately, is the same conclusion. You need to be able to focus and stop the monkey brain from jumping all over the place all the time.

Meditation is proven to have many positive effect on our wellbeing. But, it is very difficult. WHAT do you even do?
Focus on your breath.
Let the mind forever focus the attention back as it drifts to the current of random thoughts.
And sit.

I'm sure you've heard all this before. Maybe even tried and didn't work. It's weird but our mind just hates stillness.

I got roped in a meditation discussion with someone and it's a bit of a weird subject for me to engage in because on the one hand I read a lot about meditation but on the other hand I didn't do much meditation. So I think I have less to say than someone who really meditates daily but never read a word on it. Yet, here I yapp...

But one thing that I think is important is that if you start and it's hard, nothing works etc you only need a little ray of achievement. You want to really be in the meditation, in the "no thoughts" zone for like..10 seconds. It's such a wonderful, unfamiliar place to be that you'll surely want to come back again and again to it. That's the first goal. Get there for a second and then you might become passionate. Or spin your wheels aimless and give it up like most of us.

So yeah, when my meditation app stats look like this, when I'm still a "grasshopper" after having it installed 4 months ago. It's a good sign something is not clicking.

Enough grasshoping and more sitting.
I'm curious to see what my next badge will be :)

Sort:  

The hardest part for meditation is imo getting started.

Your expectations will not fit what is happening, which is nothing.

No enlightment or so, maybe even bordom.

A mistake I think many do when they start is having their sessions too long.

You can have very quick "meditations" or maybe even better called mindfulness sessions by just being mindful about your breath for 10 seconds.

This brings people back quickly as it is harder to say no to than actually do it.

Another tool are guided meditations as they give your mind "something to do"

YES! thank you.
I use OAK that has guided. but now I;m doing mostly unguided. I'm trying 10 minutes early morning and night for now. But i feel that longer sessions are beneficial. Like one hour on Sunday or something..

Congratulations @razvanelulmarin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 59000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64