***UPDATE*** What the man cave is, what we aim to achieve, Where we're at with the building, what we are, and what we aren't.

in #life6 years ago

tobacco-1492119_960_720.jpg

Okay, so some of you know by now that I'm building a man cave for men to come in, hang out and be... men. I you haven't then click on here

I expect there has been a lot of speculation over what we are and what we aim to achieve over the last week and I'd like to solidify in stone some of the things that I'm working on right now.

The man cave will exist as a place for men to chill, hang out, learn, explore, make new connections, and better themselves.

I'm big on networking; mostly because I'm a people person. I love people. This is my strongest asset and arguably my greatest weakness also. That being said the man cave will be a place to meet new people based on shared experience. I'll be doing a lot of background work on trying to get men to explore themselves in greater detail than they have ever thought possible. How this will work; you'll just have to wait and see - there will be lots to do on the server when I have eventually sourced the right people and tools for the job.

Women will be allowed

Yup, women will totally be allowed, and they can help too. I already have three women helping me that want to see a place where men can grow, help, and inspire others.

I'm creating a new coin

I'm still in the process of creating a coin but I'm in talks with several people to try and give it a solid worth. I don't want people coming to my server, earning coins and having nothing to spend their newly earned mullah on. I want a real working economy where there is demand for what I'm giving out to people on the server.

I'm creating an economy around said coin

See, this is why it's taking me longer than usual to release this. It's a BIG project. An example could be when someone jumps out of their comfort zone and does something they don't usually do then they are rewarded with coin. Our core aim is for men to better themselves, so why not add incentive, right?

Contributors will earn coin too

As I said, I've yet to figure out the economy but people that come in and want to run their own channel will get a weekly share in coinage (so far we have writing, emotional wellbeing, fishing, and fitness. I have big plans. I'm looking for a lot more). Time is money, this I do understand.

Platforms have partnered with us.

Exciting stuff really. If you are unsure what platforms are, they are a group that help people build their communities whilst I focus on the back breaking stuff of development. Interested in what they do? Link here

I'm also looking for contributors

If you have a skill or a hobby that you'd be interested in sharing, then comment on this post underneath and I'll see if I can get in touch with you. There will be an opportunity for you to grow your own skills and experience as well as earn coinage! Yeeah. It really doesn't need to be space engineering I promise you. I've sat down in knitting groups in the past and had a lot of fun so I'm totally up for suggestion here.

There won't be anywhere to just 'link drop' your post and then go silent

I want to encourage engagement so the Steemit sharing lounge will only be open to people that have engaged in the server for longer than a certain period of time. I know people are busy, I get that, but if you're far too busy to only engage in link dropping on our server then perhaps this isn't the place for you.

Those that write well will get the chance to be hosted on my website

I'll be honest and say that I'm looking for more male writers because we're terribly short of them right now. But this will be entirely up to you. You'll earn coinage for your work, and also some real world money for going up on my mainstream platform. Also, there's a few bigger mags that sit on my site - just be aware that they are always scouting my artists. You never know, right?

I'll be looking to collaborate with a few other groups out there

I'm always on the lookout for something new. I have one rule I live by. Work with others, and compete to better my own achievements. I've always believed that working with others is totally the way to go, so if you like the idea of what I'm doing, and you'd like your group to sort-of feed into what I'm doing (or vice versa) shoot me a line!

Politics will be non-existent

Everyone is created equal on my server. No harassment, no discrimination, no isolation, no bullying and no special places. All humans are equal and given the same guidance, opportunity and boundaries as everyone else - this is the only rule I will enforce without exception.

We are NOT a stuffy old gentleman's club

I don't want us to feed into the paradigm that male spaces are stuffy old gentleman's clubs. We will be a space to grow and inspire each other. Granted, there is a lot of push-back to men in today's Political climate but this won't be a place to acknowledge or even discuss this. We are about growth. I want to keep the cigars and whisky though; I sort of like that idea! Haha.

Hopefully this is a good basis to go by. More to come in the following days :)

Sort:  

GOOD LUCK with your project! I hope you succeed and all participants find this a wonderful space to chill and be themselves!

_Whaleshares-ThanksForSharing.png

I seriously hope so!! Thank you :)

Intrigued. Will it be anything like the Victorian literary club pubs or the French Sorbonne, or the Moscow tea rooms...where men of some intellectual bearing could meet, and smoke, and talk politics, religions, philosophy, women...you know...all the forbidden topics?

You can, as long as it's respectful discourse. Debate is healthy but I won't put up with any of the modern debate we have these days where people just shout at each other and don't listen

LOL...well put. Those other places were civil, for sure.

A knitting club? Blimey! lol. well you are the right man for the job then..as long as you keep the cigars and whisky. Knowing today's women there will probably be more of THEM! because they want to know what our problem is!

As I said, we won't be a place to bash women :P

Absolutely. that would never work if that was allowed. besides, what's to bash? there are
amazing! I salute you for the brilliant concept, this will be helpful for so many men who don't
have social circles like women do.

@janton Thank you - I hope so, y'know? :)

Wow! Good luck! Reach for the stars....😁

Hoping to! :) Big things to come - If I can finally get a working economy nailed down :)

great queto

Looking forward to this! Can't wait for more updates! Upvoted :)

Hopefully more to come soon Crystal :) - I'll keep you updated :)

Address to the man cave please..... lol

It's not open yet. I'll release it publicly when it's open, friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59