ARE YOU A GIVER OR A TAKERsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

DO YOU GIVE OR DO YOU TAKE?

Screenshot_20171030-202443.jpg

I haven't always been a Giver, I used to be a taker. I spent many years of my life worried about myself and not really caring about anyone else. To some point I felt like I was owed something all the time. This caused years of the since of feeling lost and not truly knowing what part of life I was supposed to play in this world.

Screenshot_20171030-202306.jpg

See someone once gave to me in a time in my life when I was not expecting it, it was truly an act of kindness and there was no reason other than the person wanted to. This was a life changer for me, up till this point I was always a taker. This person changed me forever, it was a change that was needed and wanted.

Screenshot_20171030-202632.jpg

I have not been a taker since, I try to give everyday. Now you need to understand that giving doesn't always have to cost you, time is an awesome way to give. But if you are a taker, and I know there are a lot of takers out there, try just once to give unexpectedly and see how it make you feel.

Screenshot_20171030-210628.jpg

5 things you should know about giving

1.Giving makes you feel happy

Did you know that giving activates regions of the brain associated with pleasure, social connection and trust.

2. Giving is good for your health.

Giving helps to decrease stress and lower blood pressure.

3. Giving promotes social connection

When you give you are more likely to get back. Being kind and generous leads you to preceive others more positively and more charitably.

4. Giving evokes gratitude.

Whether you are on the giving or receiving end of a gift, that gift can elicit feelings of gratitude. Research has found that gratitude leads to happiness.

5. Giving is contagious

When you give, you don't only help the immediate recipient of your gift, you also spur a ripple effect of generosity.

BE A GIVER, WE HAVE ENOUGH TAKERS.

Try to give everyday, it's much better than taking.

source of images google

follow me @raybrockman

giphy (11).gif

Don't forget to upvote

1gxbq4.gif

Sort:  

You really do walk the walk Mr. Brockman.

100%

best I can do is a 100% upvote :)

And thats awesome!!!

Thanks for the reminder @raybrockman. Keep Steeming the Giving!

I've upvoted and I'm following you @raybrockman.

You're onto it Mate! Good philosophy! I like to think I'm more of a Giver than a Taker. If you can get your Give side to outweigh your Take side and then slowly build on it you will have a much happier life.

100% agree with you, there has to be some takers cause if there wasn't there woukd be no givers.

Its all part of growing up and learning along the way :)

Hey Ray,

Wow, I just posted this, THEN I read this post!

https://steemit.com/blog/@jaichai/ijch-a-post-by-thatguymatt-great-focus-suggestions-to-ponder

It echoes your sentiments.

I will go back and put a link to this post in the P.S.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

P.S.

Love your animated .gif, lol!

Thanks, I'll check it out.

Howdy @raybrockman, I couldn't agree more. I had something similar happen to me when I was younger, and now I try to consider how my actions will affect others, how they could possibly help somebody other than myself. Upvoted and resteemed.

Funny how things change our look on life. Thanks for dropping by

Couldn't agree more, @raybrockman Sometimes easier said than done, because I think as humans we naturally want to protect what we have and try and accumulate more and more and more, but it is so much more fulfilling and rewarding to give of our time or resources and not expect anything back.

There is the secret words "not expect anything back" thanks

Absolutely true and well said. It takes practice to give, it's like a muscle that isn't naturally used. Giving is something that a person has to exercise until it becomes like second nature. Thank you for giving us this post, it is a pleasant read! @ironshield

Best post I’ve read in a long time. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46