Another travel day, and I'm back home.

in #life6 years ago

Well, it's home for now at least. One of the things my fiancee and I are doing is looking for our own place, so at some point in the not too distant future, I'll be moving. Again.

Today however was the last day of our holiday, which involved a long day of driving, from Bayswater, Melbourne to Rockdale, Sydney. Including the diversions for stops, a total of over 900 km.

We departed at 8 am, and didn't stop until we got to Bellana, where we attacked the bakery. I had a ham and cheese croissant, while Catherine had a little pie and sausage roll. Re-supply the drinks and back on the road.

The next leg was not nearly as long, just heading up the road to Holbrook to refuel within range of home. We got to drive past the strangely inland submarine that lives there also.

Holbrook Submarine.jpg
It's a submarine. Well, it's the outer skin of a submarine anyway... Source

A couple of hundred kilometres later and we pulled in to Yass (or the service centre next to the highway that's near the town anyway. I've never actually been through the town...), where we both needed more food and drinks, having exhausted the supplies in the car. Maccas was the choice this time, which only really qualifies as food during a road trip, at least for me anyway!

Both of us just wanted to get home, and while a stop should have happened around the time we got off the M5 (to avoid the tolls), We just pushed through the final 45 minute run back to Catherine's place, where we relaxed for an hour or so before I took another 15 minute drive home.

I was inside at home by about 7:45 pm, so even with the rest time, it was just under a 12 hour day. I was also interested to note that it felt much easier than the last time I did it, which I mostly put down to that being in winter, where I left Bayswater in the dark, and arrived to Sydney in the dark, as opposed to today where it was light when we left and light when I got home. It felt like a shorter day, even though it probably wasn't. Having someone else in the car also obviously helps the time go quicker.

From tomorrow, I should be back to the more regular posts that I make, but I'm pretty pleased to have managed to make posts every day while away and especially while travelling!

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

that is a long journey and i believe its very tiring, the ship photo looks a awesome, a twelve hour journey and 900km..... that is hectic

On the way over, I did the 2 days back to back. It was much better having 2 days in Melbourne. I'm far less wiped out today, but I still had around 11 hours sleep. And I'll not do much today and will still sleep well tonight too

Oh man the M5 is bad even at the best of times but nice work pushing through and getting home. There’s no place like home and good luck in your search for a new one!

I find the 2 non-toll segments of the M5 very different. The outer section which is basically just the way the Hume goes if you don't want to go onto the M7 with tolls, is pretty good most of the time I've been out there.

The inner section, after the toll section finishes through to the airport tunnel, however I agree can be horrible. Yesterday it was mostly a smooth run, with very little slow down, just a little before the Bexley exit before the tunnels.

Awesome and well written, Thanks for sharing @ratticus

Thanks for dropping past. Will take a look at what you're writting

That's a long day on the road. Glad ypu had a safe journey. I bet you're happy to be home at the end of the day.

Very much so. It was a long day, and one that I've only done a couple of times before. Normally I have a stop in Canberra to break off that last 3 hours and it's so much more manageable that way.

where we attacked the bakery

Lol. Can't blame both of you though. And I commend you for being able to keep posting. You managed to keep up with both worlds - enjoying your vacation with loved ones and sharing it with the rest of the world :)

You've done a great job managing to post every day even when travelling and stuff! XD

Damn that's such a long drive. I don't even count Macca's as food on a road trip but it's better than being hungry XD That out of place submarine would be an interesting thing to encounter inland o_O

goatsig

One of these trips I'm going to have to actually set aside the time to stop there and have a proper look at it.

Our options were KFC, Maccas or wandering around to the other side of the petrol station for something from there or the attached 'coolibah cafe' chain, which are usually a decent option, but was easier to just grab something we knew Catherine could eat than walking and having to walk back possibly without food to end up with Maccas anyway. It happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50