I commited a taboo – presenting my resignation without securing the next job

in #life7 years ago

I’ve been contemplating of taking a short break, about a month, from work since a couple of months ago.

This isn’t the first time I am actually resigning without a job waiting in line. Although in the past, I actively sought opportunities the moment I handed my resignation that the gap between jobs is just less than a month.

I am certain of my motivations for this decision. I know I need to let go of the emotional baggage that has accumulated during my employment and take this opportunity to re-visit my work motivations, further develop my strengths, and mine new skills to bring to the table.

I recognize that some interviewers can be unforgiving on grilling applicants on why they left one job without first securing the next. That could be a challenge I have to face eventually. But I’ll make sure this hiatus will be worth it. Wish me luck!

Sort:  

Hi, I have done the same exact thing. It was tough for me when i went for the first few interviews after the resignation. They were keep on asking why?why?why?. But should not put the blame on previous management or anything. Easiest excuse i had was " After working for two three years i needed a break. so i decided to go on a vacation to UAE to visit my family".That would be tough for you also. But be motivated & everything going to be ok. I got a good job within 1 month. Cheers!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55