Day 9 - Look Around You With The Eyes of a Traveler - 30 Days Mindfulness Challenge

in #life8 years ago

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

Day 9

My story with traveling

Between 2007 and 2011 I used to travel a lot. My job at that time involved traveling in the capital cities of countries all over the world and working there for one to two weeks.

Although I didn't like my sales job per se, I liked the opportunity to experience new cultures, places and people from Europe to Asia, America and Africa.

I learned a lot about myself during those travels. And also about the real life in some places, behind the prejudices and fake images displayed by the media.

One of the things I got to experience often was this alert state and curiosity that I had every time I arrived in a completely new city.

I call it "the traveler's awareness". It's a state of consciousness that is also a good exercise to practice on the way to the mindful living ideal.

So that's why I invite you to try today - or in any other day of our challenge - to enter this state regardless of the fact that you are still in the same environment.

Day 9 - Seeing the World With The Eyes of a Traveler

So how should you enter this state if you are not currently traveling?

First remember how it feels when you first set foot in a new place, be it a new town or a new country. How open and curious you are about everything you see, hear, smell.

Then take a few moments to anchor this state in your body, become aware of how your entire body feels when you are in a new place.

Second, just for today, when you go to work, or do your shopping, or you walk in a park, pretend you are a traveler and be as present and as curious as if you were there for the first time.

Look at the buildings around your home, study the people you encounter, notice the fragrances in the air.

Advanced pro tip: If you really want to get into the feeling you might go visit a part of your town you've never seen before. It can be just a tiny street or a new neighbourhood. Or just choose a new, different route for getting back from work.

A few words on the New Year's Eve

Since today is the last day of 2016 - at the time of writing this words - you could extend this traveler's perspective to the way you're entering 2017. After all, you've never been in the 2017 before.

So you could become very present and aware of everything that goes on around you in the first few seconds of the new year.

Wherever and however you will spend the New Year's Eve, be it a fun party with friends or a cosy, chill evening with your partner or alone planning and meditating, whatever combination you choose, take a few moments and look around you with the eyes of a traveler.

Happy New Mindful Year, my friend!

Photo source Unsplash


I'm a psychologist, intuitive coach, blogger and vlogger. You can find me mainly on my blog at Being Raluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening and sexuality. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.


Raluca Popescu


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.51 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 31 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

You're really cute! ☆☆☆☆☆😎 I followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50