Day 3 - Stop and Smell the Roses - 30 Days Mindfulness Challenge

in #life8 years ago

It's Christmas Day as I'm writing this.

I hope you had or still have a wonderful day, in peace and harmony, surrounded by the people you love and cherish the most.

I know I had fun and ate a bit too much of the good vegetarian food that was on the menu today.

So to help my body digest it better I made myself a cup of herbal tea and sat down to give you:

Day 3 - Stop and Smell the Roses - The 30 Days Mindfulness Challenge.

Day 3 Stop and smell the roses

Today it's all about using the presence of nature in your life to help you get grounded and centered.
It can be anything.

Inside your house it can be the Christmas tree in your living room (that is if you have one, I've made myself a Christmas tree out of books, like I said I will, because I don't like cutting trees down only to throw them away in a couple of days) or your flower pots near the window.

When you go outside just look for the trees, the flowers, the birds, the beautiful sky.

Go into a park and walk paying attention to all the beautiful nature surrounding you.

If you are in a busy city just avoid the big boulevards and take the smaller, hidden streets where you can enjoy the gardens from the houses.

And if it's spring or summer, please, stop and smell the roses or any other flowers. It will lift you up, enchant your senses and ground you in a second.

If you need more inspiration on how to do this midnfully, watch Ferdinand the Bull, from this 1938 Walt Disney movie. Whenever I watch it, it alwasy makes my smile and reminds me to stop and smell the roses. :)

"Look at a tree, a flower, a plant. Let your awareness rest upon it. How still they are, how deeply rooted in Being. Allow nature to teach you stillness." - ECKHART TOLLE, Stillness Speaks


I'm a psychologist, intuitive coach, blogger and vlogger. You can find me mainly on my blog at Being Raluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening and sexuality. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.


Raluca Popescu


Photo source Unsplah

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.13 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you very much for sharing this inspiring post, Raluca!
Upvoted & Followed.
Merry Christmas :)

Thank you for your feedback and for joining in. Merry Christmas to you! :)

Thank you @raluca. Ferdinand the Bull is one of the earliest stories I can remember and I remember who read it to me and can almost smell the old leather chair in which I was nestled. It is a beautiful, simple gorgeous tale.
That the Spanish masters could see no merit in any other course of action but to return Ferdinand to his meadow is a lasting impression!
Votes and follows!

@ebryans Glad this reminded you of happy times from your childhood. Thank you for sharing your story with Ferdinand the Bull! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41