Day 25 - Say "Hello" or "How Are You" like you mean it - 30 Days Mindfulness Challenge

in #life8 years ago

Day 25

Often times we are so caught up in the chatter made by the voices in our head that we don't really connect with the people we meet.

We say empty "hellos" and shallow "how are yous". And we are not really interested in the other person's answer.

Today, I invite you to get out of this routine and practice saying mindful "hellos".

Day 25 - Say "Hello" or "How Are You" like you mean it

How To Do This:

  • Today, put your heart into your "Hellos" and "How are yous?"!
  • Whenever you salute anyone, be it your flatmates, your partner, the neighbor, the doorman, or your colleagues at work, take a few moments to really look into their eyes and offer them a few moments of genuine attention.
  • In order to do that you need to step out of your mind and really listen to them, even if for just a few seconds.

Practicing saying genuine "hello" and "how are you" throughout your day is an awesome way of practicing mindfulness.

Besides the obvious benefits for yourself, this little practice can have a beautiful impact on the people you meet.

When you give them the gift of your undivided attention, of your presence, even if for just a few seconds, people are touched on a deep level even if they might not even realize it.

It's like you are spreading small seeds of kindness and awareness while increasing your own mindfulness.

I've practiced this exercise and I found that it can easily light up someone's day. And mine. And if I add a little compliment to my "hello", I see their eyes bright up and smile...and that moment is priceless. :)

So give it a try and have fun with it.

image source Pixabay


A note on The 30 Days Mindfulness Challenge. I initially published this challenge 2 years ago on my blog Being Raluca and I'm using those articles as a base for this one. I sometimes rewrite 80% of the article, other times I keep more of the original version and rewrite and add less new content.


I'm a psychologist, intuitive coach, blogger and vlogger. You can find me mainly on my blog at Being Raluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening and sexuality. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.


Raluca Popescu


Sort:  

I always say hello with the smile on my face, even when I don't feel so good.
The person you are greeting sometimes doesn't have any fault that you're sad, stressed or in bad mood !

I agree, congrats for keeping the smile :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40