Stop thinking you're not successful!

in #life7 years ago

EA-blog-712x394-success.jpg

Often times we tend to believe that success means financial wealth. Here's the reality check: it's not. Since when was one's financial situation the yardstick to measuring success? And since when was being famous, and having your life and your face on the front page of every newspaper success? Unfortunately, our society has been influenced to believe that this is the meaning of success (and now it makes more sense why being a doctor or an engineer was, or still is, a big 'wow' in our culture).

Every time I thought about success from that perspective I realized I was getting depressed, feeling like a total failure that I did not start my own business and that I am totally broke, and that I should've studied Bio-med because I would've become a doctor by now, just so people can say 'wow you're a doctor!' and that I can have more zeros in my bank account.
But then I realized that success has nothing to do with money, nor with how fancy you job title may be, if you're not happy.

I hereby attempt to define success as: being able to do whatever you have passion for. Period. If you're doing what you love, great job, you're very fortunate. If you're on that path, I applaude you. There are millions of people who are rich and have a good income yet they hate their job, they hate what they do. What's the point then of living?! If you hate what you do, then you won't be happy! You will just attempt to be happy and you'll force yourself to believe that you're happy simply because your salary is good.

So if you're measuring your success by looking at your bank account, then stop. Money comes and goes, and while you may be rich today, you might be poor next week. Who knows?

Sort:  

beautiful write..
Excellent word order ...
It's amazing ...
Keep the spirit in work @raisinbran... :)

thank you very much! I really appreciate your comment :)
Glad you liked it!

Congratulations @raisinbran! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very true. Sadly society does see success as zeros in your bank, but I fully agree with you. It is much more than that.

Thank you for your comment
Yup, it's the society that makes us think that way, though it's very materialistic and wrong.

i like your post my friend

Why thank you! I appreciate your comment! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43