A Boxing Glove

in #life7 years ago

brokenheart.jpg

She put her boxing gloves on,
and said, "I can continue on
I know who I am, my weaknesses,
I can fight till dawn."
But when she fought her own self
And walked through the door to confess
To cry in front of him,
He gave her a hug, sang her a hymn,
Said to her, "it will be okay."
And left to work, leaving her
For the guests with them to talk away.

She thought she could do it,
On her own, with her wit,
With his support, she can change
Her weakness to make life easier
For him and her.
But when her gloves became worn out,
And when her "strong" mask had fallen out,
She came to him with a realization
That privacy for her is a declaration
Of both of his and her happiness and sanity,
And without them, their relationship won't reach actuality,
But he yelled before anything,
And broke the shell that
Was protecting everything.
And as he was beating the steering wheel,
She forgot who she was, she forgot his feel
And cried like a duckling, and wished she could reseal
That broken shell, for everything to heal.

"Too demanding" is what she heard last.
Or "you ask too much" when she hadn't asked
For a single thing for the seven months that passed
Except for him to be a good son to his mother,
And a good servant to his lord.
Because she cared so much for him,
She wanted the best for him.
But she never asked anything
Ever again,
For her love has broken
Into tiny pieces, forming a mosaic of
Forgotten warnings she had witnessed,
And signs she chose to ignore
Because the saying goes,
"Love is blinding".

She didn't want that Michael Kors watch,
Nor anything topnotch.
All that she ever longed for,
Was for her to be understood,
To be treated as she deserves.

So she threw her heart away on a carriage
For she realized it was not her who's not ready for marriage,
But him..
For marriage is not just love:
It is responsibility, trust, and a boxing glove
Worn by both to fight the hardships
So they can both ride peacefully the ship
Of life.

Sort:  

Wow, that was powerful writing, you really dragged me in.

thank you! I really appreciate your comment.
It's from a lived experience, I guess that's why it's powerful :)

This was an extremely powerful piece of writing! Resteemed and followed!

thank you very much!! I truly appreciate your feedback.
I have followed you back!

I am proud of you ❤️ You've written it so beautiful! Please, write more poems.

Thank you Kim :) <3 I appreciate it dearly <3

Found it. Loved it, but sadly too late for you to gain from my upvote. But you have gained another follower. Im guessing this story has come from your life, not your iagination. Hopefully you are in better times now

Thank you very much for your comment. I have followed you as well.
Yes, that's right, which makes it better, and more .. real. I'm much better now, and very happy I made the choice of leaving a toxic narcissist :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42