You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Huge Thrift Store Trip Haul!! $390 Spent > $1,800 Profit Made After Fees So Far ($2,000 Projected)

in #life7 years ago

It was also baseball season for me, so I equated the burning forearms to faster bat speed.

Got a good laugh out of this!

How big is the city you do this in, how many stores do you have in your circuit? What platform do you usually sell on?

Pretty funny that you've got a thrift nemesis, always good to have a little competition!

Sort:  

I'm glad you extracted the most salient content in my opinion as well (seriously). Sometimes thrifting for hours is simply great exercise and fun for beating the competition vs the money.

There are about 30 thrift stores in or just outside my city I can attack, but I normally stick to a core 10-15 that are most convenient to get to with that often have the type of items and pricing I'd want. A simple circuit is usually 5-8 stores that are clustered close enough. If they aren't productive, I'll push for another leg in another group. If thrifting was a dud, I have the recycling to hit at night.

Sometimes I'll launch an all day/night assault and get so much stuff I don't know what to do with it. I have to keep a balance with what's practical to move quick enough, versus building up too much of an inventory. I have my island of misfit purchases I'm lazy with listing that I should tackle before getting more, but it's hard to not want to go on the hunt instead.

I sell heavily on eBay, a decent amount on Craigslist, and have dabbled on Etsy and Close5 so far as well.

That definitely sounds like a full time job. I don't think we'd have enough stock in our neck of the woods to support that, but I'm probably wrong and the thrifters in town are happy that I think that!

Thanks for sharing the info.

My average thrifting circuit is about 2-3 hours tops. My average picking trips are about an hour tops. That's doing most by foot, or with public transportation. There are full days, but it's a self-motivating activity because it's paying a return. Regarding thrifting, you could frequent 2-3 stores that have volume 2-3 times a week and find yourself accumulating some nice inventory before you know it, especially as you become more proficient. Thanks for responding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66844.99
ETH 3499.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69