You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Take it Outside - My Solo Packrafting Trip Through the Bob Marshall Wilderness

in #life7 years ago

It was 5 days in the backcountry, two days of driving. I had freeze dried meals for my big meal everyday, powerbars and oatmeal to fill out breakfast and lunch. Those freeze dried meals tasted amazing at the end of the day!

I did also eat some fish, but I hadn't planned on it when I was packing so it was a nice bonus. I hadn't fished Tenkara before and wasn't sure I'd even catch anything. It was so remote out there though the fish bite just about anything, they have no fear that they might be hooked. Definitely a different world.

Sort:  

Heh, heh. I had never considered the fact that fish out in remote mountain steams might be "hungry" for some companionship and might feel the need for that "human touch" – or "human bite," as the case may be.

But seriously, I never thought that they might not have any fear of being hooked, while those fish surrounded by civilization (and by fishermen) might have an inbred fear of suspicious-looking bait.

I know, the thought had never crossed my mind either until I got out there and experienced it. It's definitely a thing though, after I came back I checked into it and sure enough in highly fished areas, fish are harder to catch.

Wow. Great to know that. Thanks for confirming, cuz I never would have assumed that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58