A Sampling of My Busy WeeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)


As each day gets a bit busier than the next, I thought I would drop in and show you just a bit of what has been going on this past week

I put together another custom made skirt and it is the first in my line of "Favorite Things" This one is the Cat Lover's Skirt. The same person is also ordering a Giraffe Lover's skirt and I will be getting started on that today or tomorrow.

cat skirt.JPG

I had orders come in for a couple of my hand crocheted cast iron handle covers I need to get started on.

cast iron handle covers.jpg

I shot a video going up tomorrow about some beans and onions growing happily side by side despite what "the book" says

beans onions.JPG

Soaked some pinto beans for 24 hours in rainwater and home made raisin vinegar and made a Tarheel dinner with them

DSCN3455.JPG

Made the first batch of the season of my spicy lacto fermented pickles from the cucumbers I have growing and my own raspberry fermentation starter and will be putting up a how to video on that later this week.

DSCN3475.JPG

I am drying even more flowers to put up for use in my homemade soaps, shampoo, vinegar, skin creams and more

DSCN3479.JPG

I have been grinding lots of organic white wheat berries by hand for use in my homemade breads

grain mill.JPG

Made another successful batch of whole wheat bread using my own raisin fermentation starter in place of store bought yeast

raisin ferment bread.JPG

Hope you are all having a lovely day and thanks for stopping in! ~Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Crazy busy! I am guessing you are happy busy it must feel rewarding to see the beautiful helpful and great tasting things you make with your own hands you are such a blessing❤

Wow! Yes, you are a really busy person! Creative and hard-working!

Lovely skirt, it really shows your hard work.keep up the good work

@raincountry, you certainly are a very busy woman. so much to do, so much to preserve or ferment. and the garden, with all that wonderfulness coming from there I'd be going crazy with the dehydrator and the canners. Great post. Keep up the good work.

Great work! I really love that skirt, it's amazing!

You've been keeping busy! I love your crochet handle covers! I might have to order some soon as the one I bought must have had acrylic and melted :(

Great post, more like this?

I love it when real life replaces "the book." Andrew and I are finding that a lot of our experiences are running counter to what a lot of mainstream livestock books had instructed us--we are opting more for observing our own, specific animals and reacting to them, rather than applying an impersonal formula. I found the same applied to my son when I was a new mother, haha! One of my favorite bits of advice I read was "read your baby, not the book."

Of course, there's one Book that trumps that advice, but in every other case...;).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51