There is no shame in living with your parents

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo.jpg

I've often stumbled upon this stupid idea all over the Internet and outside of it that once you finish high school or even when you start college, you should not be living with your parents any more. It's not a "rule" and it's not something that people know it SHOULD happen.

But it is something that makes you cool, if you succeed to move out, or like a looser if you still leave with your mom and dad. And for the love of God I cannot understand why. I cannot understand why people love to make fun of others for living with their parents, especially when they struggle to live on their own.

For me, it goes like this - if you don't have a great job yet and if you can't live a decent life on your own while being able to pay for everything you need, there's absolutely no reason to move out. You should spend as much time as you can with your parents, if they're okay with it, of course, and save money.

That, for me, it's a much better option than to hurry, move out and then struggle to pay the rent from the little money you make each month. Why work 12 hours a day just to be able to sustain yourself and look "cool" in front of others when all you have to do is let your parents keep you in their house, maybe even help them pay some bills and buy things you're all using, all to save some money and buy a house or a small apartment for yourself in the future.

I guess this is simply a "caprice" of this generation, an idea that you should move out as fast as possible and have fun in your new place instead of spending time with your parents and not be able to do whatever you want.

The main reason I wanted to write this article is because I keep seeing people being shamed for still living with their parents despite them working and making quite a lot of money. For me, that seems like a smart thing to do, especially if you have a plan to move out in the future using the money you saved for years.

If you're in that position, if you're still living with your parents because of financial reasons or because you want to work on something you like, then do just that. You're not a lesser person simply because you live with someone else and as long as you're working, making money and contributing when it comes to paying bills or buying stuff, then you shouldn't be ashamed.

Spend time there, work, save as much money as you can and when you're ready, buy an apartment and let those who laughed at you in the past struggle to pay the rent while you focus on what you love most and make progress without stressing yourself every month over a certain amount of money you need to pay to live there.

Sort:  

I agree! I had no choice than move out because the school i got in was so far away from my parents house. I admit it was "cool" to live away from childhood home, but it also was ridiculously expensive that i didn't have life out side of school and work.

That's why leaving your parent's home unless you really have to is a pretty bad idea. Looking cool feels great, especially compared to those who still live with their mom and dad, but when you see how much money you need to spend on bills and how many things you need to buy to live decently, the struggle begins.

Hopefully school was worth it and it worked out good for you! :)

It was:) it took just two years really hard work:)

Glad to hear that :)

True words right here.

Not only is there shaming if you still live at home when you're older, it's also a one way ticket to not getting hired. Witch really turns into a 'catch 20 20'

I can't find a job to get the money to move out.
I can't move out without a job.

It sounds easy enough to not mention it during an interview but there's only so much time before they find out if you get a trail, because to be fair I don't see living with my folks as an issue (and I suck at lying) . People only work here on job agency contracts they can kick you out at any day without valid reasons, I can assure you that a lot of times the bosses make themself feel better at the thought that you wont end up in the gutter but they don't seem to realize what happens if the person after that thinks the same, and the one after that, and after that ,and after that ....

Sadly that's how things are right now and that's not gonna change soon.

I didn't know you can get fired (or not get hired at all) simply because you live with your parents or because a boss just doesn't like you... that sucks and it's one of the main reasons I'd rather work on what I like, online.

I guess there's no way to make people see how stupid their belief is (that you need to move as fast as possible) and those still living with their parents will be shamed for that no mater what they do.

Yep, its a bad idea to let your potential new boss know you live with your folks.
I'm sure its the combination of stigma and the boss wanting you to be actually desperate. If your rent is low, you're not going to appear very desperate. If you don't have a wife, kids or car to take responsibility for, you're not very desperate. If you're not desperate, you'll have the option to jobhop without fear quicker.

I've been thrown out because they didn't like me regardless whether I did a good job and I've been thrown out in a combination off 'You're not from the right school and you live with your parents'. It's disgusting and I've been jobhunting for nearly a decade now, they can do this thanks to daily contracts.

That is, indeed, disgusting.

I understand that they do this because they want to feel superior, they want you to depend on them and it makes them feel better (probably that happens because they feel like they're a lot inferior to everyone else and they need to feel something else), but still, that's sad.

I was lucky enough to start working online since I was 16 and when I finished high school I started working on the Internet immediately. I didn't have to go to a normal job, but I saw a lot of people having to do that and it wasn't nice.

They had to work a lot more than me, and for a fairly low amount of money, while being treated like crap. Not worth if you ask me, but there's nothing you can do when you need to survive, especially when you have all kind of responsibilities.

I don't know in how many places you'll get fired for living with your parents, but it really suck that it happens anywhere. It's sad people like those exist and they even have high functions. They treat everyone bad and then they wonder why employees aren't motivated to work more.

Life can really suck sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77