Act like you're already there

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-447570 (1).jpeg

Every day I wake up at around 8 or 9 in the morning, I eat something, I get a hot coup of coffee and I sit in front of my computer. I check what's new on social media, if anyone left a comment or said something about a design package or an article I wrote, and I check if I sold anything on Graphic River & Creative Market or if I received any rewards on Steemit.

A while ago I didn't do all that when waking up. A few months ago I was waking at 7 in the morning, worked for a few hours then spent the rest of my day being tired, unwilling to work and playing video games most of the time.

I thought I was productive, but I was actually wasting my time trying to be the "perfect" worker, making as much progress as possible. All that changed when I started behaving like the kind of person I want to become in the future. Everything changed when I changed my attitude towards everything.

I got the idea after watching (multiple times) a video called "19 minutes that will change your life" on YouTube. On that video you'll hear Earl Nightingale talk about success and why so many people don't get to live without worries by the time they're 65 years old. I listened to that video a lot of times and I always learned new things. This time, I decided to apply a method you can learn about in the video. I decided to changed my attitude.

I'm not sure if I mentioned this in past articles, but I'm a huge fan of movies that feature a strong and feared character, the one everyone is afraid of, the one that's so good most people don't even believe he's real. Movies like John Wick or Leon: El Professional made me love those kind of characters, and sometimes I even watch entire movies for only one character. It was the case with the movie Batman. I watched it just for the joker.

The thing is that since I love that kind of characters and I admire then so much, I want to be like them. I want to be smart, to be productive, to be respected and to know exactly what I'm doing, most of the time. I basically want all the things I don't yet have.

For years I tried to become that kind of person while also doing my best to work and make some money. As some of you already know I decided to quit college a few years ago when I felt like it wasn't teaching me anything. I started freelancing and since then I do my best to make money on different websites.

That kept me so busy that I stopped trying to become the person I wanted and I forced myself to focus on my work. Recently, I decided to change that, and I started treating everything and behaving like I'm one of the characters I so much admire.

I try my best to not be scared no matter what happens, to always think before doing something, to read and learn new things all the time, to sit well on my chair, to make decisions when everyone around me is afraid to, and so on.

While I'm not even close to being the kind of person I want, and while I don't have all the things they have, acting like I'm where I want to be helped me do things better. I feel motivated whenever I wake up in the morning and I realize I can be the type of person I want for one more day, that I can make progress being who I want to be and that I can develop myself to get where I want in the near future.

And that's something you should keep in mind as well. You don't have to act like a person you admire or like a character you like. You just have to act like you're the person you want to be in the future. Changing your attitude towards life will help you see everything in a better perspective and make better decisions overall.

If you want to be the kind of guy that has a lot of money, wears only suits and is respected by people, then start changing your attitude and behave just like that. Dress decently, even if you don't have enough money to buy a suit, walk straight like you're respected by everyone and work as much as you can to make money.

Doing that will allow you to see exactly how it feels to get where you want to be, and it will motivate you to work harder. Right now for example I feel really good about myself, because I just spent less than 10 minutes writing this article, being sure about what I'm saying, with a hot coup of coffee near me (yes, it's the middle of the day, I know).

I may be wrong about this, I am definitely not be as smart as I feel like, my article may not be as good as I hope and maybe drinking coffee in the middle of the day may keep me awake at night. But because I feel the way I feel, it's easier for me to work and keep myself motivated and focus on the things I have to do.

StockSnap_5D83C9D03F.jpg

I believe you should try and do the same, for at least a week. It will change your mood, it will boost your motivation and it will help you make more progress. You don't have to be a completely different person. You just have to act like you're the type of person you want to be when you think it's necessary.

Test this for the next 7 days, and see what results you get. If it works, you have a new way of feeling good about yourself and keeping yourself motivated. If it doesn't work, then you just spent 7 days acting like the person you want to be, and who knows, maybe you'll like that more than you think.

Sort:  

Find great characters and model them. I love that, I've been doing it for the last year or so. It's one of the greatest things you can do. I watched Batman only for the Joker too :))

"I may be wrong but I'm never in doubt" - Dan Pena


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thanks for the comment, and I guess you can share the article if you want, and also use the images, they are free anyway! :)

I just watched that 19 minutes video. Is so fucking great, I love it.

Glad you liked it! :)

That's very beautifully written and meaningful💙💫👌🏻 We often like to compare ourselves to other but in the end, everyone has a different time to shine. It's all about our personal progress and what's bringing us closer to become the best version of ourselves. With the mindset you have, it is no doubt you will get there. Don't give up and keep being optimistic like you are. Great things are yet to come💗💎🔑

Yes, we should all strive to become the best versions of ourselves and always act towards improving in that way, instead of just trying to be like other people just for the sake of doing it. Thanks for the kind words and for the comment! :)

awwwww youre so right! The pleasure is mine my friend!:) Keep up the good work!

Excellent article. "Act it 'till you make it!". You're right. Very well written also, thanks.

Thank you very much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66177.69
ETH 3483.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16