My MEPS Experience

in #life6 years ago

hey guys,In here telling you today about my meps experience. before i begin let me completely honest,if you do did to join the military you will have to go through meps and it will be suckiest(yes i know thats not a real word but go with it)thing you will ever do in your life(besides taxes).

on Sunday i went to the recruiter's office,them gave me my packet for meps and but me on a shuttle bus with people shipping out to basic. there were ten of us all together and the ride last for a couple hours since we had to pick up people from different recruiting offices in different towns. eventually we arrived at a Marriott hotel in Columbia,South Carolina. we sign in at the freedom club office and are given are room keys and passes for food.
thumbnail-06737f210f492691a92a93521e67746f.jpeg

on We are woken up at 4 am and have to be dressed and ready to go at 4:30 for roll call,sign outs,and breakfast. We were told we were only allowed to eat certain foods since we were going to meps and it would mess with out blood pressure. so i had grits and water. the bus arrived around 5 and everyone got on. when we reached the gates of fort Jackson an mp(military police) boarded the bus and told us to hold out our IDs,driving license,etc . we continue down the road and reach the meps facility .we get out,go through a metal detector and a a hand held detector . After we meet with our liaison we were taken upstairs to medical briefing telling us what we will be doing to day.
MEPShotel.JPG

We then went through a breathalyzer test,urine analysis ,blood test,eye test,hearing test,physical,and physical history.
during the medical history i found out i failed the vision test so i was sent to see the base's eye doctor (dont know professional name of it) and he found an astigmatism in my eye.So i returned to meps and had to sign a waiver which was a 50/50 chance of me getting to enlist of getting disquieted for service. I was sent home and waited anxiously for their response.
images (2).jpeg

On Tuesday i received a call from my recruiter and he told me my waiver was accepted,and i was going back to meps Thursday and Friday.

(skipping past Thursday and Friday morning,same thing as the first time at hotel)

I was going to meps to pick my job/rate and take the oath of enlistment,same as my roommate who happens to live in same town as me. one of the meps official tells us the systems are down and things are going to be slow.
so from 6am-10am we waited to talked to our liaisons and enlist. after we did enlist we waited two more hours to take the oath of enlistment. my recruiter finally came and picked us up at 1pm and we got home at 3 pm.
air-force-recruits-houston-meps (1).jpg

I know there really wasn't a lot of detail in this but if there was it would of been really long and boring.
main message is meps will suck and you will not have fun. it is a very cold,and depression place. the only time you are happy is when you leave.

Sort:  

Holy crap that sounds like shit.

it was, i hated every minute of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70572.77
ETH 3817.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53