My 100th Steemit post: What 100 posts have taught me

in #life7 years ago (edited)

image

Hello there fellow Steemians, it's Rabbe. For the 100th time to be exact. I thought it would be fun to take a look back and think about the presumptions about Steemit I had a few months back when I made my account.

As someone might guess from the name I use here, I made the account thinking I wouldn't probably come here more than once or twice. Well, I was wrong. But this wasn't the only thing that became clear to me during these 100 posts. So, for your delight (or nuisance) I've gathered a few of the things that I didn't believe when I started but now understand.

  • This is not a source of easy money
    It's harder than it looks, and I think this is something all newcomers should understand.
  • Don't try to choose your topics only based on what could make money
    It might work for a while, but fishing for those moneymakers will probably be harder than writing about your own stuff and succeeding.
  • Mimicking successful Steemians doesn't necessarily work
    Just because the guy made a thousand dollars with a pic of his cat, doesn't mean you will.
  • The amount of upvotes might be related to when you post
    This is something I noticed when I was making my first posts and testing the waters. I still don't know which time of day and/or week is the best time to post but there seems to be some difference. Should probably make an Excel-table if I wanted to find a real pattern.
  • Putting effort into a post doesn't necessarily mean a lot of upvotes
    We've all gone through this. You plan a post, polish it to be the best it can be and then receive 4 upvotes. It can be very tough on someone who's just starting out. It was for me.
  • That said, don't let it discourage you
    This was an important one. I was really down for a while because my posts didn't get any upvotes or comments, but after a while I decided to do this for myself and not care how I succeed.
  • It's okay to take some time away from posting
    There was a point when I felt like I needed to push something out there every single day, no matter what. Later on I came to the conclusion that I prefer writing articles and posts I'm happy with instead of keeping up a certain volume.
  • Using pictures and making visually appealing posts is the best way to get noticed
    People scroll through hundreds of posts, so you should have something in your post to make them stop when it pops up.
  • Staying patient and true to your own style is the way to go
    So you didn't get any upvotes in your post? Keep trying. No-one commented even though you asked for them to do so? Keep trying. Pushing forward is the only way to get noticed big time. And when you do, it will be good that you made it being yourself instead of someone else.
  • Getting comments is hard
    So damn hard. I love comments, they give so much feedback. So if you get them, take the time to read them. Of course it's almost impossible if you get like 300 comments on a post, but I don't have to worry about such problems.
  • X followers doesn't mean X upvotes for your posts
    It's such a dumb thing to even think of, but I have to admit that at first I thought it was pretty much how it works. I thought that people who follow me will upvote my posts, but it really isn't that simple. I mean, if all my followers upvoted my every post, I would probably be making some decent money on this.
  • It gets addictive after a while
    Gotta say, I've never liked social media before Steemit, but I'm starting to get hooked on this. In a good way though (for now).
  • It's so much fun once you get the hang of it.
    Well, no need to explain this. I think we all know.

I have to say I've had my ups and downs with Steemit, but all in all it has been a super interesting and fun ride. I'm thankful to my mates in the crypto-chat who convinced me to join Steemit, I probably wouldn't have found my way here otherwise. Also, thank you all who have upvoted, commented and resteemed my posts. But especially for you who have followed me. Hopefully I'm able to offer you something interesting in the future. Until next time. Peace. -R
Sort:  

Yeah, I noticed it too, my potential payout is like $13 and honestly it wasn't what you'd call "easy money", but I found that this site is more like a long term investment, creating high quality posts and engaging with your followers and the community is a long term investment in a way, great post btw.

Yeah, you're absolutely right about Steemit being a long-term investment. And thank you, glad to hear you liked it.

I also started enjoying the social part more than the rewards. My payouts just going back in growing my account.

GREAT POST!! Will follow:)

Congratulations @rabbe123! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58119.97
ETH 3054.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26