Morning thoughts in the train: How much money is enough?

in #life7 years ago

image
I've recently been lucky enough to find myself in a situation where I make more money than I spend, which has started to add up. I think you could say I'm quite wealthy if you take in account that I'm still a student. However, as the numbers on the bank account rise I still don't feel like I have "enough". To be honest, the more I save just makes me feel less content. It's almost like I'm climbing a mountain and with every step the top seems to move away twice as much.

I kinda understand why this happens. I think of it as a change in one's perspective. The goldfish in the fishbowl doesn't know that there is something bigger out there. At this point I am the goldfish that has outgrown the fishbowl and has been moved into a small lake with bigger fish. Comparing myself to them makes me feel smaller than ever.

But why do we always compare ourselves to the bigger fish? In a way it's a good quality to have, since it gives us goals and makes us try harder. However, this same quality makes us jealous of others and poisons our thinking if we're not careful. I've been trying to observe my own behavior in this process and I really don't like what I see. And even though in reality I'm not wealthy by most standards I have noticed how greed is developing. I can't even imagine what it feels like for people who have made their first 500k or millon or whatever.

So how much money is enough? I'm not sure if such thing exists. It depends on one's personality and background I quess. I set a goal for myself when I was younger: If I can make it through the month without having to plan every purchase and count the cents then I'm happy. And that's what I'm aiming for. Of course I will be happy if I can live a life being wealthy, but to be honest I think it would be healthier for a person like me if I stayed a little less wealthy.

As a great poet once said: "Mo money mo problems."

Until next time guys. Peace.
-R

Sort:  

I like your post. @rabbe123 I have followed you

If you're looking for a magic number, I remember reading somewhere that it's $70k. Anything over that and your happiness doesn't increase significantly, so making $70k brings you the same level of happiness as the guy making $300k.

But yeah, it's a common problem. The more you make, the more you worry. I remember reading an explanation for that somewhere too, but don't remember what it said. It did have something to do with how the richer you are the more you worry about keeping that money (maybe because you realize now just how easy it is to spend it, now that you have a lot?)

Haha well that sounds quite reasonable, maybe 70k is what one should aim for :D

And yeah I think you're onto something there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47