Just do what you love - that's it

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Nowadays there is a lot of social pressure in every aspect of life; How you look, what you wear, what you do for a living etc. I've noticed many of us feel like we need to be something in order to fill the expectations of others. This post is for all of you struggling with these kinds of things.

I've always been the dude that doesn't fit in the usual groups. When others played football, I was skateboarding. When others were out doing what teenagers usually do, I was at home learning to knit. When most people my age were getting their first car, I was moving around with a longboard. I always did what I felt like doing, not paying attention to what other people think.

Now, at the age of 23 I feel really good I did what I did. When I tell about my hobbies and things I do, everyone is interested and want to know more. A lot of people tell me how they would have wanted to do something when they were younger but didn't because it was "lame" or "weird" back then. Now that they're older they still pay attention to what others think, this time the excuse is just "I'm too old now". Once you get used to the "what will people think"-attitude, it's really hard to get rid of.

So, this goes out to everyone thinking about doing something but are afraid of the common opinion: Just go ahead, who cares what other people think.

Parents, encourage your kids to choose their own path even if it wasn't what is socially the most acceptable. They will thank you later. I know i did

Just be yourself guys and girls, it really pays off.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.73 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

this post is amazing Rabbe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62