Being an introvert - a hard concept to explain

in #life7 years ago

"I don't have the energy to see you today". How many of you have said this to a good friend? I'm guessing not many. Well, neither have I. How could you say something like that without sounding like a massive douche? I'm not sure you can.

I've been an introvert for as long as I remember. Most people who know me would probably say I like to be by myself and have no problem doing things alone. Some would definitely say I'm antisocial and lonely, which I understand completely. It's easy to see it that way if you don't know better.

It's not always easy being an introvert, especially if most of your friends are extroverts like mine. Sometimes I feel like it's practically impossible for an extrovert to understand why someone would ever prefer being alone if you have the opportunity to hang out with people. It's like explaining what a flower looks like to a person who was born blind.

In general, a lot of people seem to think being an introvert means I don't like people or hanging out with them, but that's not the case. I love hanging out in good company, but being with people for a long time just drains my energy to the point where I would just like to be by myself for a while. For me, getting to be alone for a while after hanging out with friends feels a bit like the much needed break after a long period of running. I feel peaceful and calm, can hear my thoughts again and can properly relax.

I know it may sound like I see hanging out with my friends as a burden but I don't. They're really important to me and I love spending time with them, sometimes I just need a break from everything and everyone. I've been blessed with a girlfriend that understands what I need and knows when I'd like to have some space.

Last but not least, I'd like to say to all you introverts out there: It's okay, you're not alone. And to all the extroverts: please don't be offended if a friend of yours wants some alone time, it's not necessarily about you.

As always, this is just my personal opinion so feel free to disagree. Peace.
-R

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.51 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50