The Meaning of FatherhoodsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

fatherhood_father_daughter.jpg

My daughter and I

What does it mean to be a father? This was a question that has pervaded my thoughts from my childhood days. It is a thought that now regularly occupies my mind; as a father of 2 lovely girls. This question is one that is incredibly subjective but is one that resonates with those who take on this role.

For the Serious

A father is a parent who loves, directs, advocates and nurtures his children. He works in tandem with the mother of his children to set an example to follow. To achieve the aforementioned, the father creates an environment in which the children can grow in optimal conditions. A major factory of which is their neighborhood and community.

To this end, I have become active in the community in which I live. Brownsville, the brooklyn neighborhood with an unsavory history. It is also a neighborhood with crumbling infrastructure and one of the worst places, by this account, to raise kids in all of NYC. Despite this, lies many opportunities to create a phenomenal environment to rear healthy kids. The opportunity to create personalized infrastructure for our children. Fathers all over the neighborhood have answered this call and collaborate to create institutions that cater to and serve the kids in the neighborhood. I am one of them.

Project: My Fatherhood Story

This project is one of the initiatives led by this fatherhood coalition. In particular, we worked in tandem with the NYC Dept. of Health and the Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College. The goal was to write a "video letter" where the men would detail what fatherhood means to them.

Below is my video of what fatherhood is to me. It is one of a collection of videos that will be showcased for fathers who are struggling with custody of their children and are trying to make sense of the role they intend to have in their children's lives. This project serves as one of several tools created to assist our fellows of the fraternity of fatherhood.

My Story

Steemians, please tell me what you think. If any of your are fathers or considering becoming fathers, please tell me what fatherhood means to you.

With regards,

r0nind

Sort:  

It really feels good to be a parent. Cant explain the feeling whenever Im with my daughter. seeing some1 who is a replica of yourself :-) Good Feeling

Absolutely. My wife had given birth to our second daughter about a month ago so we now have "Irish Twins." It's an amazing time, both exasperating and exciting. There's nothing like seeing my daughters give a bright smile. It really is an amazing feeling.

Congratulations @r0nind! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @r0nind! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60740.76
ETH 3388.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52