Discovering a New Florida Favorite - Switchbox Coffee Roasters

in #life7 years ago

Switchbox Coffee Roasters

IMG_0063.JPG
Now that our eyes have been opened to the nitrogen phenomenon sweeping our nation’s coffee shops we are determined to see what other NCB variants exist. Not saying Warsaw didn’t hit the nail on the head it’s just nice to have variety.

Our next stop is Switchbox Coffee Roasters. Switchbox is located in the Oakland Park Culinary Art District. Not a stone’s throw away from Warsaw and a quarter mile South of Funky Buddha, South Florida’s most popular microbrewery.

IMG_0062.JPG

On my first visit to Switchbox, I ordered a nitro cold brew. It was fairly similar to Warsaw in terms of flavor, however, there was one distinct point of difference. Switchbox’s concoction was super nitrogenated. When the woman behind the counter handed over the beverage I commented on how much nitrogen was in the coffee. She laughed and told me they liked their nitro super creamy. I prefer it this way. The head stays much longer.

IMG_0061.JPG

On my second trip to Switchbox, I requested the cold brew flight which is a sampling of three different cold brewing methods. Nitro, standard (non-nitro) and flash chilled. Anyone who has done a coffee cupping/tasting knows that having coffees side by side is essential in comparing and contrasting flavor, mouthfeel and acidity. I gotta give them credit this is great for aspiring coffee gurus.

IMG_0060.JPG

Switchbox Coffee Roasters changes their flight lineup periodically. On this occasion, I was given a Guatemala Kapeu (nitro), Colombia El Faldon (standard) and an Ethiopia Gedeb (flash chilled) all of which are roasted on site. Where the nitro and standard felt heavy and appeared to be an undiluted concentrate the flash-chilled was tea like and soft. Smart of Switchbox to capitalize on the properties of each region. Guatemala Kapeu is a rich coffee and putting in on nitro compliments the flavor. On the flip side, a lighter coffee like the Ethiopia Gedeb does well being flash chilled.

I find it difficult to pick out aromas and flavors in hot coffees, where they are more distinguishable, let alone cold brew where these attributes are dumbed down due to lack of heat. Being an ex-smoker doesn’t help either so instead of giving you my best guess, here are Switchbox’s profiles on each coffee.

Guatemala Kapeu (nitro)
milk chocolate
hazelnuts
nectarine
sweet finish

Colombia El Faldon (standard)
caramel
tangerine
lemon
savory

Ethiopia Gedeb (flash chilled)
floral
fresh strawberry
black tea
delicate
well balanced

Switchbox Coffee Roasters doesn’t only kill it on the coffee end, they have some pretty awesome pastries and breakfast items too. I also recommend getting something in your stomach if you’re going to down the cold brew flight in one sitting. It’s a lot of coffee. Luckily they have an assortment of quiches to choose from as well as a ginger pear muffin that’s to die for.

IMG_0059.JPG

Lastly, let’s talk about the staff. Out of all the coffee shops I’ve visited, Switchbox has the best people working. Every time I walk in that place the barista/cashier smiles and greets me with a warm welcome, without fail. They are more than happy to educate on their coffees and recently conducted a homebrewing workshop to teach others how to brew some bangin’ java at home.

The last time I was at Switchbox Coffee Roasters the barista offered me a sample of their on-tap kombucha. Now, I’m not a huge kombucha fan but this lady knew everything about the brewing (fermenting?) process of the tea and was able to explain to me benefits and differences. I was impressed.

IMG_0058.JPG

All in all, I’m in love with this coffee shop. Friendly environment. Superb staff. Unbelievable coffee.

Not local to South Florida? No problem. Switchbox Coffee Roasters sells their beans online. Check out their store here.

IMG_0057.JPG

Until next time.

Originally posted on The Coffee Recipe owned and operated by Robb Myers.

As always if you enjoyed this post feel free to follow, resteem or upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72