The road to recovery through Steemit?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The last couple of years, my energy level has been disappointingly low. This happened gradually, so I didn't really notice it. At some point, you might realise that you are tired and think it is temporary. "I only need a holiday and I'll be fine". But my battery just didn't recharge... like AT ALL. But I kept going anyway.

When I didn't have to go to work, more often did I decide to stay home instead of doing some random activity. Some days I would keep falling asleep on the couch. Other days I was proud that I did both my laundry and my dishes. I became more and more passive and just didn't have anything that excited me enough to get my ass moving. Over time, work became a struggle too. More and more did I check my watch to see when it was time to leave and go home.

DSC03474.jpeg

Although it is comfortable to stay in your own home, it just isn't healthy. And also: it won't pay my bills. But with the lack of energy, I didn't know what to do. I crossed my fingers for winning the lottery, but that didn't happen. I needed some passive income so that I could take my time to recover without too much stress.

And then I discovered Steemit.

I did have enough stories to tell and I had a massive archive of photos that I took during my trips. A decade ago, I used to blog in Dutch, but how hard would it be to do that in English? Practise makes perfect and I could do it from the couch. "Let's do it!"

After a couple of months, I started running out of photos and stories...

My passiveness didn't really help me have new experiences to write about. I came up with an achievable activity in my own neighbourhood that turned into my Amsterdam Then and Now series. Those stories were a lot of work and the weather didn't really help (I will bring it back, promised). I didn't travel anymore and was too indifferent to even care about that.

I ran into some games on Steemit that I liked a lot.

I became more and more "active" in the @photogames group but thought I couldn't compete with the professional photographers over there (competitive much?). I gave the edits a try and rediscovered my love for Photoshop after not having touched it for nearly 15 years. I spend way too much time on those edits, but only because I suddenly had loads of energy as soon as I was inside my creative bubble.

So yeah, I saw a glimpse of that internal fire in myself that I remember is capable of burning so intensely. I concluded that the key to recovery was likely through creativity and photography. And it actually made sense when I realised that photography is often the only reason that makes me leave my hotel when on holidays. Could it trigger me enough to leave my couch? Why not get a proper camera and try to learn from these guys/girls?

So I bought a camera.

20180329_181100.jpeg

A month later, I also had an Adobe Creative Cloud photography account, a tripod, multiple lenses and a list of locations that I wanted to check out. Once or twice a week, I found myself energised enough to do some sightseeing in nature (because healthy). I would use SnappCar (The AirBnb for cars) to get to those places. After a few times, I decided to make it easier for myself...

I got myself a tiny car.

20180510_165248.jpeg

And you know how it goes. You get a new car and all you want to do is drive it! I just HAD to go! The first thing I did was start the engine and drive around the block to park it again and go back to my couch. Because there was no clear goal. But also because my camera was still on my couch.

Sort:  

A little Steemit inspiration got you outside and your body moving again. That's great! You know, it's really counterintuitive how exercise gives you more energy.

and everyone knows it... but you still can't get yourself doing it. Still a long way to go, but learning the triggers that give me the slightest bit of motivation to move. It will do for now ;)

I'm not certain everyone knows it, and I have been there too, when it's the last thing you would want to do. You're important - take care of yourself.

Thanks ❤️

I hear all positivity there girl!! Super girl and very inspriring!

I hear love for editting and creating the cool picture and just that has a big bill-paying market. You hit yourself a jackpot I think

Positivity, patience and persistence is the key :) I won't stop until I get where I want to be! It might take some time... See you there!!

Its cool you something that works for you. A lot of people never get to that point!

And true, staying on the couch really doesnt help!

<3 YES! Sometimes having a reason/outlet to start doing stuff is all a person needs. Super super nice to see all your developments and glad to be a witness to all you have learned and added to Steemit the past few months. Looking forward to see even more happening the coming months! You're doing amazing :D

Congratulations on the new gear and new car! It's awesome how that creative drive inside can be a healthy thing too. It gets me out on lots of healthy hikes. Cheers to the camera for getting you energized and out there again!

It's still not easy to lift my butt. But I know that as soon as I am on my way, it gets better.

Almost... Fiat 500 :)

yap Fića legend of yugoslavian roads :)
Zastava_850_f.jpg

What a great story of getting up and out. So great that you found that passion for photography and are sharing it with all of us!

who knows where this will lead to :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by r00sj3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

goed te zien dat je energy uyit het fotograveren haalt , doe wat je leuk vindt , dat werkt voor mij ook nog steeds het beste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80