You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Toxic People Are Good For You

in #life7 years ago

I had a couple of thoughts about this topic, but I did really enjoy your analysis overall. The first was that at some point people lost the ability to be content where they are at in life. On the very likely chance I never become a millionaire, I am fine with it! Meh. I enjoyed the journey of life where I have been, and some of that has been in the low SES status! I know people who look for opportunities to work enough in a day to put the roof and food on the table, but that's it. A day job a couple days a week, then the rest of the time to do whatever they feel like. Not go for gold, but scrape by since they prefer the time over the wealth. Not that everyone needs to scrape by, but more people could use a shake to their perspectives regarding those mantras.

On the flip side of that, there is a lot of Positive Psychology that I liked as I studied it. It was not about making everything around you safe for you; rather the focus on things that build resilience. I know that I personally reflect on 3 things a day that I am grateful for, because I want to make sure that I personally do not obsess over what went "wrong". The extreme of these ideas (I believe) is the use of social media to surround yourself with 'yes men'. The people that do not agree, unfriend them. That behavior is exactly what you seem to be challenging, and for that I definitely upvoted! ^_^

Sort:  

I agree with you. But I tend to stick. With misfits, to establish an common language. And teach. Was always, like that. :)

thank you for the thoughtful comment. much appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10