Random Thought of the Day #1: Food Deserts

in #life8 years ago (edited)

No, not desserts, deserts. Ever heard of a food desert? Let me explain:

A food desert is typically an urban area that is destitute of fresh healthy foods for the span of at least one mile (imagine hefting groceries on foot for longer than a mile!). That means no grocery stores or farmers markets. For residents without vehicles, getting to food has become quite a difficulty.

In replacement of fresh and healthy foods, these residents rely on gas stations and quickie marts for meals which usually comprise of sugary snacks and drinks that are heavily processed.

The origins of food deserts begin with development. There was a practice of development known as "redlining" spanning from the 30s to the late 70s. Redlining is the purposeful denial of services by raising prices, removing healthcare facilities, and even the deprivation of grocery stores in order to eliminate certain urban neighborhoods. These neighborhoods were not targeted because of geography, but rather for the racial composition of its residents (mainly inner city black neighborhoods).

Although redlining is no longer allowed, the destitution remains in these areas. These improperly developed neighborhoods have fallen into disrepair yet people still inhabit them because they have no means to go anywhere else. The residents rely on "fringe food retailers" (gas stations, corner stores, etc) and charge 30-60% more for these "convenient" foods; in essence, these impoverished people not only rely on access to low quality foodstuffs, they also have to pay higher prices.

The people's health also suffer as a result: childhood obesity and diabetes thrive in food deprived areas. Low levels of vitamins have promoted mental illness and hypertension is rampant.

As a part of her "Let's Move!" initiative to fight childhood obesity, Michelle Obama ambitiously pledged to "eliminate all food deserts in seven years" ... It has been four years now and not much has changed. Even though there has been some efforts to introduce grocery stores in food deserts, it is hard to get the people to change their habits when they have been living with a particular diet for their entire lives. When fresh food is foreign, it can be tough to know even what to do with it. Also, fresh food is much more expensive than artificial processed foods. So even when a new grocery store opens in a food desert, the residents still buy the same junk.

No more cheetos for dinner, mom!

What I think could help in these areas:

  • Start a food cooperative that is comprised of local community activities and events where people can learn fresh food preparation and enjoy readily made foods.

  • Start community refrigerators. I LOVE this idea! Many countries in Europe are already doing this: Place refrigerators outside throughout the community. Citizens and business owners from the neighborhood or other areas can place food in these fridges for others to enjoy.

Here is a video of how community food fridges work:

Obviously a few refrigerators around town and some community activities are not going to resolve the problem, but it helps. Its really about making changes that will eventually tip the scales back to wholesomeness. Won't happen overnight, but possibly over the span of a generation or two, initiatives and outreaches could take hold.

So, why did I write this? What is Random Thought of the Day? Its exactly how it sounds. I will be at work, or at the gym, or driving around and I will have some random topic pop up in my mind. Today it was a thought about food deserts. Then I had a light bulb moment ... What if I turned my random thoughts into a blog? That is kinda cool. I am full of useless tidbits, albeit they are interesting. Hence an idea was born. I might have more than one random thought of the day, or I might have none. I am not going to force myself into producing a random thought. But when I do have one, I sure will blog about it.

Sources:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_desert#Origins
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redlining
http://www.pbs.org/newshour/updates/takes-grocery-store-eliminate-food-desert/

Sort:  

That top photo is one of the reasons I wish more folks knew about eating weeds and other wild plants, and gardening. That map shows that food deserts aren't just an urban issue -- folks in rural areas can really be food insecure. When a small town loses it's grocery store, it crosses a threshold that changes so many things for everyone around.

When I fly for my work, I always look for gardens when the plane is coming in for a landing. There are so many fewer gardens than there used to be, yet so much of the land could be productive. There are some great local initiative around, but it is a long haul!

And your point about folks not knowing what to do with fresh produce is so true! I see so many people intimidated by a big winter squash, when that is one of the easiest things in the world to cook, and they don't even require any special storage.

Nice post - lots of food for thought. #gardening #food #communities #HHshare

I love winter squash! Yes, rural food deserts are a very good point. I thought about putting it into the article but I ran out of time before leaving for work.
I am very into edible and medicinal plants. I have a half dozen books on identifying and preparing wild edibles although I haven't tried to put my skills into action. I am really good at identifying which is half the battle.
There are a lot of urban community gardens going up in Detroit which is pretty cool, but its a long way until things like that really take hold.

I eat a lot of wild plants and some of the animals, too. It's enriched my life in a lot of ways. You've got good things up there in Montana to eat -- even in the wintertime. I'll be writing about foraging here on Steem. I have a YouTube channel where I cover that, too. Just check under "Haphazard Homestead", if you are ever inclined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81