Join me on my Dreadlock Journey! From start to 3 Months

in #life6 years ago

Ever thought about having dreadlocks? Do you have fine and thin hair and think you cannot have dreadlocks! Well think again!

dreads.jpg

I have started my dreadlock journey and I am not looking back!

For years, I have contemplated about getting dreadlocks, but I assumed my baby fine thin hair couldn't handle a dread. After all, a dreadlock is twisted up hair that eventually forms a knot. My hair is so soft, fine, and bone straight, I figured the knots would easily wash out.

I also read a lot of information online about thin hair and dreads and saw some frightening photos of what thin hair and dreadlocks "could" look like.

This deterred me for many years and I gave up on the notion that I could have dreads. But one day, I decided to look into it again, as I have grown so frustrated with my hair.

I found some videos of white girls (like me) who have fine, thin, and bone straight hair. They had AMAZING locks! It took 3-5 years to get the long luscious thick locks, but they looked great, and it revitalized my dream of having dreads! I realized in those scary photos of thin hair dreads that the loctician tightened the dreads wayyyy to much at the scalp which caused major issues.

So when I did my dreads, I left a decent amount of hair at the root. This would deter the look of thin hair at the scalp and would not cause any unneccesary damage to the scalp by being to aggressive with tightening dreads. I did ALL of my dreads on my own, so don't fret if you have noone to assist you! Just get a mirror to put behind you and a mirror to watch and you can do it all on your own.

It took a long time to dread my hair. Even though I do not have much of it and it isn't all that long, it still took about 10 hours, and I didn't even finish them to the end.

Alright, here are the shots of my crazy first day dreads (cringeworthy!)

dreads-2.jpg

dreads-3.jpg

dreads-4.jpg

They are so airy, they blow crazy in the wind!

I also had to spend some time taking apart and redoing dreads as I made them too thick. Dreads should only be about 1 to 1.5 square inch of scalp, or else you will end up with a fat dread that takes a long time to dry. However, when you are making your dread, it doesn't seem like that much hair, especially if it is thin!

As a side note, I also prepped my hair for 1 month by using residue-free shampoo (the key to healthy happy dreads!) and I ceased to use conditioner. The quality of my hair rose dramatically by cutting out residue filled shampoo and conditioner and to this day feels way healthier than it was before.

Keep in mind that once you dread your hair, you stop losing hairs! All the hair you normally lose down the shower or in a brush stays in your dreads. So when you make a 1 inch section, eventually your dread will be as thick as that section.

At first, my dreads just kinda sucked. They went any which way they wanted to, were completely wild, soft, light and squishy.

I did not wash them for 2 whole weeks as I was worried they would wash out. When I did wash them, the roots got loose and I lost some knots at the end, but they did stay.

I spent many hours twist and ripping the ends and lots of time root balling the dreads to keep them from washing out. I think this part is critical if you have fine, silky, thin, bone straight hair like me. If you have curly thick coarse hair, you would probably not need to baby them so much in the beginning.

At about 1.5 months, the dreads really started to lock good. My hair started to have "dread memory" and my roots and ends began to stay intact. They were starting to behave better too, staying how I wanted them too, and started to gain some "weight".

It has now been 3 months of having my white girl dreads, and they are feeling firm, a bit heavier, and require way less maintenance. However, the dreaded shrinking phase has begun! Pun intended!

dreads-5.jpg

dreads-6.jpg

you can really see the shrinking phase in this shot! Look at those kinky loopy dreads!

The shrinking phase happens to all dreads. Kinks and loops start to form as the dread compresses to form a mature dread. My dreads are really enjoying turning into 90 degree angles!

I honestly don't mind it, because I know this is the crucial step to getting amazing dreads. They will kink loop and shrink until they are compressed enough to be a beautiful mature dread, which for my hair type, will take a minimum of 1 year if I am lucky. It will probably be closer to 3.

dreads-7.jpg

The dreads are starting to thicken, lock and form into actual dreads!

dreads-8.jpg

Dreads are still fuzzy and have lots of loose hair. This is normal, no need to fuss with it. Eventually the dread will suck in all those lose hairs.

dreads-9.jpg

A right degree angle dread. I have about a dozen dreads doing this lol

dreads-10.jpg

I just throw a bandana into my hair, and I think it looks alright. This is the growing pains of having dreads. If you think you will have awesome dreads overnight, think again!!!

If you have any questions about dreads, especially if you have questions about straight thin fine silky hair and dreads, leave me a comment!

Sort:  

Why not do braids instead?

Well, braids have to be rebraided every month or so whereas dreadlocks dread themselves at the root with virtually no maintenance. Plus I like the look of dreads once they are mature.

I like your photos. They are very clear.
How to treat dreadlocks to keep them clean and not fall out ?
Have a good day @queenmountain

They are very easy to clean. All you need to do is use a residue free shampoo and that's it! Wash once or twice a week. They get less greasy and dirty than regular hair and require no blow drying or styling. I love it. And the only way they would fall out is if you mess with tightening the roots too much. I don't mess with them at all the best thing to do is leave them be and do their own thing.

I see know, thanks for your information.
Have a good day @queenmountain

Hei beautiful
"The Hair Of The Adventurer":D hihihi

wow useful information, i just know that thin and straight hair can not be used as dreadlocks.
but what you are talking about makes me amazed and it turns thin and straight hair can also be dreadlocks.
I love dreadlocks and with this information I will try to make my hair gimbal.
thank you for sharing this information @queenmountain

Yes I was surprised that thin straight hair could be dreadlocked too! So far my dreads are doing well.

hmmm, i will also try it.
thanks

my community will beat the shit out of me if i do that haha

I thought, dreadlocks were mainly for the blacks. For all I know all history regarding to dreadlocks all links to the black community. It's beautiful all the same to see the white embrace it, to me its good to see foreign people embrace black culture.

Keep it coming

Typically, it is associated with the black culture. However, there are strong correlations with dreads and vikings as well. It is thought that dreadlocks may have been the natural way to wear hair for many cultures thousands of years ago.

I wouldn't really agree that I am embracing black culture by having dreads, it was a choice based on the ease of the hairstyle and the fact that I am outdoors a lot. It is a perfect style for the outdoorsman!

Noted... For the ease, I agree with u.
Easy maintenance

nice hair i cant wait for your next great adventure

I told my mum I was going to dread my hair after I graduated and she gave me that shook look like I was about to do something horribly insane.
Nice to see your progress, as regards your dreads journey. Nice pictures too.

It's a pretty big decision to have dreads especially since it takes years for them to fully mature. Luckily my lifestyle and job allows for me to have them.

I know. I wish I had your life right now. Because in the corporate world where I'm headed (I'm graduating from uni soon) it's a no-no

Yes many corporations would not allow for dreads which is sad because they are very clean and look nice when tied back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82