Lab meat - has science gone too far or best solution reduce impact on environment?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

labmeat.jpgSo I came across this article that described how they grow meat... not cows, or pigs or chickens - actual meat. And while before, I thought - hey neat, fake meat from a lab sounds cool - now I'm pretty grossed out.

http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/science/2017/07/why_is_fetal_cow_blood_used_to_grow_fake_meat.html

This article describes in gruesome detail how they get Fetal Bovine Serum. While super versatile - it basically comes from cow fetus blood. So... you still need cows and cow fetuses to make this lab meat, and this is sort of missing the point. If i want a real burger, I eat a real burger. If I want a veggie burger, I get a veggie burger.
Under what circumstances would I be like - "hmm... I wish I could have a burger, but made in a lab, from cow fetus. Because... reasons...
And granted - SPOILERS: the serum comes from cows that happen to be pregnant when they are sent to slaughter. So technically... it's recycling. But let's say this becomes widely successful and everyone abandons real cow meat coming from real cows.
Would then cows be farmed for fetuses? That just sounds more gross and terrifying and not that cruelty free...

Sort:  

Isn't that amazing growing meat in a petry dish and the best part there is no animal to kill hear! Cool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48