Pain Comes In Many Forms

in #life7 years ago


Yup, that's me, the guy with the bandaged toe and serious case of hobbit's feet. I'll save you the gross underlyings, of a big fat bruise and a gash right along the toenail. If the nail doesn't fall off sometime in the next two weeks, I'll be impressed. How did this happen? I'm a big idiot that's how. Nothing special really. I sat down on the couch, gaming laptop on my thighs, when I realized that the overstuffed pillow behind my back just wasn't in a good spot for me to be writing a steemit post. Well, as Murphy would have it, the moment I tried to adjust said pillow, arm awkwardly behind my back, my laptop dropped and landed on both of my big toes, my right one taking the brunt of the fall.


The culprit. Pardon the mess, we're getting ready to move out of this place.

Do you know how much a gaming laptop weighs? I didn't, but the make and model number rest right under my palm so googling it was a sinch. Ten and a half FREAKING POUNDS! That's how much! It really did feel like I dropped a barbell on my toe and to be honest it wasn't far off. I haven't had tears from pain in a long time.

Thankfully, the wonderful Mrs. @tltran took care to investigate my toe when I was too horrified to look. By the feel of things, it was smushed to a pulp. An imaginative mind is great for telling stories and exaggerating details for entertainment, but not so much when it comes to unseen personal injury. My imagination immediately informed me that amputation was going to be the only option.


C'mon buddy, just a little wiggle...

Luckily, I can move it. I'm not ruling out that I didn't break something, and now that the endorphins and adrenaline are wearing off putting pressure on it sucks like the dickens, but it moves still, so I've got that goin' for me.

On the downside, we move out of this house in less than two weeks, with plenty of heavy lifting before then as we box up our final things. Here's hoping for a swift recovery.

Until next time, be thankful for what you have, you never know when you're gonna drop a 10-pound laptop on it!

Sort:  

You were a good patient, too. So you have that going for you, But, please, don't take that as invitation to hurt yourself again.

Once is enough for quite some time. Luckily, I have the best nurse!

And now I have the "Animaniacs" theme song in my head. ...

These laptops are silent killers! Lol! Glad u did r break it. I was just thinking I needed a lighter laptop myself. We have a 17" MacBook. It's a brick for sure. Wouldn't want to end up in your predicament. 🙃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30