New House, New Life

in #life7 years ago

The last week or so has been crazy

In the last 11 days I closed on a house, moved everything I own there, and got myself pretty well set up. The walls are decorated with pictures of family and friends, posters of meaningful events and sayings, and all manner of bookcases, shelves, tables, dressers, general furniture, and SEVEN desks are all sitting in their rightful spots the new house that my wife @tltran and I share.


In all its majestic glory

But it's been so much more than just lifting and moving

Sure, I've felt like a pack mule, loaded to the brim with knick-knacks and trinkets, furniture, and books, but it's been so much more than just the move. I've also started to jog in the mornings, been dusting off the pause button on a few projects, and realizing just how much half-assery I have left around. I have so many half-finished projects it's ridiculous, and every box we unpacked seemed to have me saying, "No, I'll finish THIS project first!" Hopefully at least a couple of them will see the light of day, so I can get back to delivering those sweet sweet DIY and project posts that both you and I seem to prefer.

For now, I've just been trying to rest

Even though the house is mostly set up, there are always little snippets of things that need organized, or moved, or dusted for the first time in ages, as we unpack what seems to be the calcified ruins of an archaic civilization called my past life in a rental home. I'm thankful for the time I spent there, don't get me wrong, but I never CARED for the space, and even the things I owned in it, as much as I do now that I feel like I'm in a place I can call my own.

Please bear with me

I know that some of you may be used to a more frequent posting schedule, but I prefer to deliver the highest quality content that I can, and seeing as I've apparently half-assed everything else I would like to whole-ass at least one thing: my posts. I'm back to working full-time, have an art room that's still quite the tragedy, a 3D printer that needs some heavy recalibration, a secret project that's ALMOST ready to be not-so-secret, a yard that was seeded in the heat of July (meaning constant watering and attention) and a bank account that's felt the blows of a down payment, appliance purchases, and a hefty thrashing from fast food and new wares as we figure out what all we need to get established in our new home.

Given a bit of time, I'll bounce back to a more frequent posting schedule. I have a ton of things I would love to write about, and I won't be completely silent here I assure you.

Until next time,

Sort:  

Beautiful house , a big congratulations on your new home !! May all your wishes come true

We are selling our house officially next week to start our new life somewhere 9 miles down the road. This is our starter home that we have lived in the past 15 years. This week we are touching up all the little things that need touched up around the house and packing the non necessities.

We are upgrading to a newer and bigger house in the school district my students just started going to last year.

There are so many memories in this house. My two kids are excited to move but at the same time sad. My 8 year old daughter started crying yesterday thinking about it. I may shed a tear too when it finally happens. Now we just have to find a house!

Congrats on your new home. I started following you and look forward to your future posts.

Hey thanks! Yeah, this is our first home that we fully own (well, at least, with help from those pesky banks). It's strange to feel like I finally have a place where I can be myself. Congrats on your upgrade, and safe and happy travels to you!

Congratulations @quantumanomaly! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @quantumanomaly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70