Let's stop criticizing things people can't change

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem!

While studying for my philosophy exam, I was learning about Immanuel Kant's views on the world. This is just my own interpretation but I've came to understand that according to him, humans could respect a rule of universality that states that something is moral to do only in the case it was acceptable for everyone else to do the exact same thing.
I’m going to exemplify this concept in a rant format unfortunately, since this is something that really does grind my gears. :D

Rant about negativity on social media

Let's talk about people who feel the need to post unconstructive hate comments on social media. We can take a moment and imagine what kind of communities would form within the platform if everyone was only spewing negativity. I really can't wrap my mind around the fact that people feel the need to write comments that are completely uncalled for and no one will benefit from them whatsoever. It truly isn’t hard to skip content that you don’t enjoy, or discuss your views and opinions in a civilized matter. There obviously isn't anything wrong with constructive criticism along with maybe a praise regarding something you liked, a positive aspect.
People should stop relying on the bravery that is granted by mask the internet gives us all, and try to make actions whilst trying to keep others well-being in mind. Negative comments regarding different aspects of a person that they cannot control, such as their looks, will never help one personally develop and might even have the opposite effect.

What I want every person being harassed online or offline to know:

I've had a phase in my life that I do regret, but that I have also learned so much from. Having had a phase (first year of high school, to be exact) when I did verbally bully a few classmates, I could get an inside view onto how projection works because in the vast majority of the cases, the victims have no type of blame for the way they’re being treated.
I'm highly aware that I can't change the world with a single post, but I hope everyone thinks twice before posting negative content online. I honestly hope that my post will make people be more considerate and respectful to each other because I truly believe that by living in harmony with each other, rather than a permanent war with fellow humans, can help us accomplish amazing things.

Sort:  

Hey @quanticle, thanks for sharing! So many things out there to be happy for and about. Always keep staying positive! Thanks for a nice post! Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29