A Letter to Chauvinist Husbands

in #life7 years ago

What’s in a name?
That which we call a rose,
by any other name
would smell as sweet.

-William Shakespeare
C4C4742F-E503-4B0B-84E7-60DBEC9F709E.jpeg

I have decided to keep my name even after the irritating preaching of the elderly, and the constant pressuring by my husband.

No, this is not a question of love or independence. This is a rational decision.

  1. Why won’t you change your family name? This question has now become not only sad but insane. Maybe it’s about time to ask women out there: Why would you want to change your name? It’s insulting to be fighting for women’s rights and gender equality when a woman is coerced to change her name just because it’s how it has always been. It’s insulting to the ever evolving humanity to not consider this. Oh, yes, men and women are equal but no, you’ve never met a man who has changed his name after the wedding but there are so many women who have changed theirs.

  2. I’ve lived with this name for years, wrote this thousands of times, said it even for more, been called this...just because I willingly signed into marriage doesn’t give you the right to make your name mine. This is not the change women should always make sacrifices for.

  3. I am not your property. I am my own being, respect my individuality. Respect my right to keep my name. Then there goes, how can you be a family if you have different ‘family’ names? Wow! Really? I have checked a dozen of dictionaries and in no where did I find ‘family’ to be described as: a group united by the same family name. Should you still insist that it has to be the same, why not change yours, Mr? See...you look like you’ve been insulted, yet I have no right to be when you ask me to change mine?

It’s about time that we, women, keep what is rightfully ours: our name. Wake up! It’s the 21st century.

Ever mine,
Ms.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pwinsy! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pwinsy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58