You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HELL on Earth EXISTS, but HELL as a place, simply CAN NOT.

in #life8 years ago

I'm glad you have freed yourself from fear.
In my opinion heaven and hell are pedagogical terms that serve to make humans behave well. That's what we do with our children. We say: If you'll be good you'll get candy, if not, you'll get grounded or slapped. A philosopher once said: "Religions are kindergartens of humanity". We are still very childish in this phase of our evolution so we need to restrain ourselves with notions like heaven and hell. So, if you don't believe in hell, why would you believe in heaven? These come in a package. Also, the morality that springs out of fear of hell or desire of heaven is a fake morality because we use other people as means for our goals instead treating them as ends in themselves. Jesus, among others, was criticising this hypocrisy in approaching religion.

OK, obviously heaven is much more appealing idea to our ego, who wants to perpetuate itself to eternity. Personal immortality is a very romantic idea, as well as a personal God who cares for everyone, ideas almost too good to be true. We need to get to a more realistic notion of afterlife.
Don't get me wrong, I'm very fond of religion but I believe it must be demythologized in order to make sense in our time. Good luck with the rest of your journey!

Sort:  

Hi, Thanks..very interesting and yeah, I agree with much of what you say. I have not made my made my mind up about heaven as yet, but I recognize what you say about it coming as a package, I did think about that. I think it is more that I feel that death is not the end. I really did experience a sensation that I was moving on and that the next part of the journey was nothing to be fearful of so I have lost much of my fear of death I guess. At the moment I am much more focused on living and experiencing life. I thought I was going to die but I didnt, so I guess it is no surprise I feel like that. Cheers!

I agree death is not the end, rather it's the beginning. Reincarnation always seemed more realistic to me than heaven and hell. These can be better understood as states of mind, like in this zen story: http://alwayswellwithin.com/2012/05/24/heaven-and-hell-a-zen-parable/

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57