Colourism: A social issue

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Allow me to introduce you to a special brand of prejudice called “colourism.” The term is an unofficial one, but it is defined as discrimination against individuals with a dark skin tone, typically among people of the same ethnic or racial group.

We usually see this manifest when lighter skinned individuals are regarded as superior because of their perceived “whiteness.” The practice stems from a combination of colonialism and enslavement of various peoples by Europeans. There are numerous examples of this. In America, this status of superiority was given to slaves with lighter skin; they often served in direct contact with slave masters usually inside the house.

Today we find evidence of colorism in Hollywood (with more roles going to lighter people of color) and across social media. There are seemingly millions of memes online about dating light skinned black or “mixed” women. While these women are put on a pedestal, light skinned males are scrutinized for being more effeminate. Couples with a light/dark skin combo are celebrated because their offspring will be “pretty mixed babies.” The list goes on.

This mindset further perpetuates the idea that darker skin is negative. Not just as a beauty standard, but as a measure of how intelligent and successful a person is or will become. We need to be self aware of how colorism affects our lives—especially as more and more interracial pairings become acceptable.

However, we need to understand that this internal battle between dark vs. light is pointless and futile. We need to move beyond the old shackles of Euro-centric superiority. Recognize that even “racially ambiguous” people struggle too—they are being shoved kicking and screaming into an identity that doesn’t fully encapsulate them. Recognize that darker skin tones are not being paranoid for calling out semi-white privilege.

Have you ever encountered colourism? Let me know in the comments!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This post has received a 1.90 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @puddinpaws.

Racially ambiguous woman checking in!

A lot of people actually don't realize the severity of this kind of very real discrimination. I get mistaken and judged for being other races fairly often, even though it shouldn't matter at all. I'm part Hawaiian and because my skin is darker, a lot of immature people judge me.

Please, I don't like this world where a tan guy can get praised but a tanned girl is somehow impure... I'm pretty salty our Queen was overthrown by white Americans.

In a way, going through this much adversity with others, I feel makes darker girls that much stronger.

I agree, I do have a thicker skin because of it. I have been confused for many an ethnicity (and while I don't mind it, I sometimes wonder why people are so curious). A lot of times I lie just because I want the person to expand their horizons as what "race" a person is... and pray they my consider for a moment it doesn't matter.

The same worms will eat our flesh when we die, so why should it matter what tint is?

Your final line rang in my ears. People are spiritual beings in a physical experience so there's no use judging a body that doesn't encompass us.

I let people guess for fun, because it also challenges their thinking to stretch some. That;s a brilliant approach to have them think back on why they would ask such a question. I'm fortunate enough to be born into a culturally diverse society here. Being judgemental can really doom someone where everyone is the minority.

For every struggle, there's always something to gain. The thicker skin here gives me solace c:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46