Procrastination Anxiety - Just Get It Done

in #life7 years ago

I am struggling this week.

I have always had an issue with procrastination but this week it has been the worst it has ever been, which of course increases my anxiety. Where does my procrastination anxiety come from?


Image Source

I believe it’s due to my struggles with perfectionism which I will probably discuss in another post at some point. If I feel I cannot do something perfectly, well then I am loath to complete or start something, such as my book on resilience building.

I realize the inane, irrational nature of this issue. I feel like, over the years, I have gotten better at resolving this issue through various methods and techniques.

Still, when I am physically and emotionally taxed, procrastination will rear its ugly head and I will capitulate.

This week, I am taking active measures to deal with my procrastination anxiety, I hope you will too if it’s a problem. If you struggle with this issue, I have found the following techniques at least somewhat helpful:

Build a daily schedule.

Either before you go to bed at night or as soon as you get up in the morning, outline what your day is going to look like.


Image Source

This way, you at least have some sort of plan to follow, even if you get off track. I don’t do hourly schedules, instead, I prefer what Paul Graham calls the Maker’s schedule, which chunks together blocks of time.

I like to divide my day into 3-hour chunks. In those three hour chunks, I schedule things such as working out and eat or work on book or marketing items and social media tasks.

I find when I follow the Maker’s schedule, my procrastination is less but throw in something unexpected like a new consultancy meeting or travel and Aaron’s productivity train gets derailed.

Move dammit.

This may seem counterintuitive since you can use this as an excuse not to focus on work-related tasks. However, I have found that just doing 15 minutes of yoga, such as the one in my morning ritual and or even just 50 push-ups in a row sparks my creativity and allows me to focus more.

Sometimes, if my procrastination is really bad, I will do a full 60 to 90-minute workout. This way, even if I don’t get any work accomplished, I can say I accomplished one positive task that day; that thought, along with the sweating keeps the anxiety at bay.


Image Source

Listen to that inspiring podcast.

It’s easy for me to start beating myself up. Once I do, I go down the rabbit hole of comparing myself to other people and you don’t know want to know where that leads.

I find I can lessen this type of anxiety by listening to podcasters I find inspirational. Most of the ones I listen to also interview successful people who describe their struggles and failures.

I feel less alone in my procrastination anxiety when I listen to this type of programming. Sometimes, if I am listening to them while I am sitting at a desk with my laptop open, I will just start working and the momentum can carry me through for a few hours.


Image Source

I have to admit, though, using those techniques, as well as others don’t always work. Sometimes, I just have to call it a no productivity day or even week.

The important aspect of this issue though is that no matter what I feel, be it anxiety, despair or sadness that I can sit with this uncomfortable emotion; not allowing it to affect my self-worth.

Finally, show some compassion for yourself.

You, probably like me are a fairly driven person in certain parts of your life.

Therefore, it may be difficult to show compassion for yourself when you procrastinate. But would you feel the say way with a friend who was struggling with procrastination? Probably not.


Image Source

If you found this post helpful, please consider sharing it and getting the word out.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Interested in joining The Unmentionables? Click the banner to apply today!

Unmentionables

Sort:  

I don't mean to come across as the kind of person you love to hate, but procrastination is not a big problem for me. (I've got other issues. Don't ask.)

I've lived all my life with procrastinators and I've seen the chaos they cause themselves and others by constantly waiting until the last minute on projects they've had days / weeks / months to work on. My first husband used to claim he "worked great under pressure." I called it "management by emergency."

He saw himself as a hero for saving the day and solving a problem. I saw him as a person creating a problem by ignoring little problems until they became big problems. To me ... the wiser choice was to fix something while it was still small, before it blew up and set everyone around him in a panic. But ... he'd say, where's the heroism in that?

Anyway ... I like to have things done early "in case something comes up" at the last minute. That happens more than you ever want to imagine. (Especially considering the company I keep.)

I find lists are extremely helpful when trying to stay on track. When that top priority is staring at me from the top of my list, it's hard to ignore it. And I've also found that anticipating the fearsome or difficult issue is usually worse than the work (or experience) itself.

If I get started on it in any way (for me, it's usually some writing project) ... like jotting down notes, doing research, writing down sentences that come to me, even if they're out of order (that way I don't forget them) ... it will get a rhythm started that creates its own momentum.

Then the problem often becomes to find a stopping place if I'm not done with the work. (I hate to stop myself when I'm on a roll! Sometimes sleep decides when the day ends. When I literally can't get from the start of a sentence to the end without losing my train of thought -- or falling asleep, it's time to call it quits.)

Believe it or not, this brings its own set of problems ... and it takes some practice to make this your routine, but mostly I'd say it's worth it. I've seen too often what the other choice looks like. Thanks, but no thanks.

Just some suggestions from the other side of the table. (smile)

from #theunmentionables

I can sympathize with you, @psychsherpa, i'm a first-class procrastinator. Sometimes it can be to your advantage not acting quickly on a project, but other times (most of the time, really) it just prevents things from happening in a timely manner. Good advise on methods to combat procrastination, much appreciated! @ironshield

Yes, the timetabling and todo lists are really helping me. My little anti-procrastination secret is to make yourself start something and say that you will only do it for 30 seconds, seconds isn't going to hurt, then once you have started you find, most of the time (except when it comes to dishes in my case) you finish the task in hand.

Oh yeah the perfection trap. I've done that, it still comes up once in awhile, but lately I found that it's easier just to strive to do something better today in comparison to the previous day. it really helps to get things done :) it's also good to know Im not alone with such issues.

I have days like this. Sometimes I can't stop the momentum, and some I can't get it started!!

Very well done post. Beautiful :)

Congratulations @psychsherpa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48