It's official : I will be wearing the Chef Jacket for a world famous hotel as from the 07th May 2018!!!

in #life6 years ago

Greetings world of Steemians!

If you have been following my blog for some time, you must surely know that I have been working as Executive Chef for couple of world most famous hotels brands and restaurants in the past!

In a big picture, in my 16 years career, I have worked for hotels like Hilton Mauritius, Hilton Cavalierie Rome, W Maldives, The Westin Mauritius, St Regis Mauritius, Le Meridien Mauritius and I had the opportunity to travel in countries like Italy, Maldives, France, UAE - Dubai and Abu Dhabi to learn more in the culinary and F&B field!

I have been among the youngest Executive Chef my country has known, and I was flying high these days...I had a dream job with a very high salary, what else I could ask for...

Until...

In June 2016, when I was occupying the position of Executive Chef of The St Regis Mauritius, all of a sudden...I decided to quit the hotel industry! This was a shock for so many...


Source

I took this decision as I am someone who can't work with sock puppets and thieves... I am posting this on the Steem blockchain so that anyone who wishes to know why (the real reason) I quit back then, can read it here and get the real answer!


Source

Yes I stopped working at The St Regis Mauritius as the atmosphere was not of a clean working place! There were thieves among my staffs and other departments, and it was simply impossible to work with people like that, especially when they were also protected by higher management!

I think you get the picture! I have a lot to write and share on this episode of my life...let keep this for another time!


June 2016 - June 2017

For one year, I had no job...I am married and I have a daughter of 4 years old btw...Imagine how my life became suddenly because of such people who ruined my dream!

BUT...I have FAMILY Support!!!


Source

My mom, brother and sisters, have all been helping me in that difficult situation...but my hotel friends...they became so rare...nowhere to be seen!!!

Big lesson learned here!!!


June 2017 - April 2018

In mid-June 2017, I discovered Steemit and decided to kick start my blog!
I can say I have been quite successful here on the platform, thank you @ned and @dan for creating such an awesome tool that can help so many people out there!

Thank you @donkeypong, @canadian-coconut, @sjennon and all my lovely foodies friends for the amazing support!

On top of my blog, I also started to work as auditor in the company of my brother...life was getting better...

Then in December 2017...I opened the first bistro which accepts crypto as payment in my country...The Progressive Mauritian Cuisine!!!

Things were really getting better and better...especially after that hard period of time where I was jobless!

My bistro is working superbly and my blog doing great too! I was thinking that I will never again go back to the hotel industry...


THEN...

Some weeks back, I was called by my ex-chef of the Hilton Mauritius who is now occupying the position of Director of Operations!
He asked me if I was interested to join the hotel he is now working as Executive Chef!!!

Without thinking too much...I decided to give that interview a try and see what happens...


I GOT THE JOB!!!!

After the interview, I was called for a food tasting, which I did successfully!

And some days back...I got the news....I was offered the job of Executive Chef!!! Can you believe it guys!?

I am making my comeback in the hotel industry after nearly 2 years later!!!


But where??? Which Hotel???

Ahem ahem...here's a photo of the 5 star hotel where I will be working as from Monday 7th May 2018!!!

This hotel is among the top 15 best ranked on tripadvisor...

The Residence Mauritius by Cenizaro!

The Residence Mauritius will be my new working place as from Monday...stay tuned to discover some amazing post coming from that hotel!!!

I am so excited to start this position...


Changes to come...

As I will be most of the time working in the kitchens of The Residence Mauritius...there's lots of changes to come in my daily life as well on my steemit blog...

Now that this post is becoming a little bit long...I'll write another post on these changes soon!

But I have to alert all my foodies friends, especially contestants of Steemit Iron Chef, that the 2nd Act will be delayed for couple of days...sincere apologises for this!


So the big news of the day from my side is that I am ready to wear that Chef's Jacket again and if anyone is visiting Mauritius...don't forget to come meet me at The Residence Mauritius - Here's the hotel official website!

I would like to know if there is/are any professional executive chef/s other than me here on Steemit, if yes...please do drop a message in the comment section below! I would love to connect!

Wish you all a pleasant day/evening!
Thank you!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

Congrats!

Thanks so much my friend! What a pleasure reading from you, hope all is well on your side!

I am SO excited for you! Congratulations on your new job! I wish you the very best!

I am really surprised and love you @progressivechef

Thanks for stopping by and commenting mate!
Cheers

Great story, I just have to tell you that everything comes in its time and this is your time to succeed. If you have this opportunity, do not waste it and enjoy it to the fullest, I also hope you share the dishes you make in your new job. Congratulations!

So beautifully said my friend! You are so right...everything comes in its time for sure, we just need some patience!
Yes of course I will be sharing some lovely posts from my work place soon!
Stay tuned for these!

I hope your experience this time around is easier to handle than the one that drove you away! Congratulations!

I do hope so mate! My last experience was really catastrophic with very bad mentality people around..
I'm so glad reading your message my friend!
Thanks!

Thats very nice Masha Allah Congratulations and wish you all the best.

Thanks so much for such a nice wish my friend!
Have a nice day ahead!

Big congratulations, my friend, you are so good, I am very happy for you and hope you all the best.

Hey my friend, hope all is well on your side! Thanks so much for your nice comments!

Te felicito por tu toma de decisiones, se nota que no temes salir de tu zona de confort, por tu historia veo que eres emprendedor de primera linea. Espero ver fotos de tu nuevo trabajo. Saludos desde Venezuela.

Read your story and this job looks like a great opportunity. Congrats . and best of luck ;)

You are right my friend, this job is really a very great opportunity to re-start where I left 2 years back!
Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65