Cyclone Aftermath : Flooded houses, fallen trees, many people affected...Mauritius waking up to a sad scenery!

in #life7 years ago

Greetings my friends of the world of Steemit!

So voila my friends, the tropical cyclone which was in our region the last days has finally passed at it's closest earlier today!

The eye of the cyclone passed at about 10kms away the south coast of Mauritius! The violent winds are reducing but more rains are expected to fall during the next few hours!

The island has been very affected by the wind gusts and torrential rains we got since yesterday! When I woke up this morning, I went to make a little tour in my car to see a little bit of the damages in my region... let me share some pics for you to get a little idea of the impact of this cyclone on my country!

DSC_0019.JPG


It is really rare to see all the roads in such a foggy state! The visibility of the road was less than 20 meters! Really not safe to drive!

DSC_0024.JPG


On a lot of places on the island, roads were closed as they were blocked with fallen trees!


This is a fallen filao tree on the coastal road of Flic En Flac, very famous tourist place!


Image Source


As mentioned above, a lot of houses were flooded and still in the same situation as the rain is continuing to fall!
A lot of houses in my area have been affected heavily, we all need to put hands together now and help these people out!


Image Source


Due to heavy rainfalls, some roads have been affected too...


The water from the rains carried so much debris on the roads, all these need to be cleared now...a lot of work to be done before everything comes back to normal!

DSC_0021.JPG


Despite the bad weather, a lot of people were already on the roads to clear trees and rocks...

DSC_0025.JPG


Water accumulation is present nearly everywhere, these will be dangerous in the days to come as many mosquitoes will lay eggs inside and there can be a lot of diseases spreading!

DSC_0030.JPG


Last night after that I made my post, the electricity went off and it was only after 12 hours later that we got it back!
People taking the road to work must be very vigilant as there's water on the roads too...drive safe my people!

DSC_0028.JPG


So here we are for the latest news here on Mauritius, I am happy to say that we have not had any casualties till now and I hope it stays like this!
Many people will be staying in refugees centers this night also as their houses have been completely flooded!

These banana trees looks lucky to have survived this violent cyclone...well the leaves have been hit hardly!

DSC_0031.JPG


I will be sharing some more photos on the damages caused to my country in some other posts! If there will be the need to raise some funds to come to the help of those affected I will surely let you guys know and we can see how to proceed!

For the time being, I am with my family safe at home and following the latest developments on this cyclone!

Thanks for all your wonderful supportive messages and love!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

I was glad to read on the news this morning that the cyclone went south, but then right after that they showed floods and trees fallen on cars and the like. Glad to hear that you're well.

Sad post save yourself

good photography and nice post

Hello my friend, I am SO glad to see you post today! I was worried about you! I am really thankful that there wasn't any casualties. I prayed for you last night, and I will keep praying for all the people in Mauritius . Take care!

@progressivechef, AM very much glad that this cyclone only affect the social amenities without affecting human lives.

Natural disaster like this is a sudden great occurrence, but what ever damages that has been done will be catered for by the government.

HOPE @creativewoman and SARAH are in good condition?

MY REGARD TO THEM ALL

Hi @progressivechef, gosh so sorry to hear about this cyclone and see all of these photos. Glad to hear that you are safe. Take care and I hope others there are safe too

So good to hear you are alright and that there are no casualties. I was worried last night because you wrote about the storm coming to Mauritius. Your pictures show how bad it has been. Good luck to you and all inhabitants o Mauritius!

Thank you for the infos. Glad you are doing ok! My heart and thoughts go to the people of Mauritius. 🙏🏻

Hi Bro @progressivechef... Those photographs look so scary about that cyclone!!I am glad that you are all safe.
@creativewoman had told me that your mom is traveling to Dubai and then to India... What about the flights in this weather?? Hope everyone is doing well...

WoW that is sad...I Hope everyone can get their normal lives as son as possible... Be safe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75