80% of the vegetables plantation affected after tropical cyclone passage!!!

in #life7 years ago

The last few days, I have been writing mainly about the tropical cyclone Berguitta which came very close to the coast of Mauritius causing quite some damages on several parts of the island!

One of the main sector to be heavily affected is the plantation! More than 80% of the vegetables plantation have been affected with the bad weather we experienced with the cyclone!

XTEN8022_01.JPG


With this situation, the harvest will be automatically very low in the coming weeks causing the prices of nearly all vegetables to rise so much these days on the stalls!

This is just the beginning...the prices are expected to rise even more in the days to come! This is really not a great thing for many people living on the island especially those in the food sector...everyone needs to find solutions/alternatives in such situations!

MAWC3343_01.JPG


The photos I am sharing have been taken some weeks back before the bad weather period started...It will be after a long time that we will again see such lovely fresh vegetables in markets!

XZNX6829_01.JPG


Tomatoes which have been the most affected were at about $2.5 one kg...and now they are at $5 and in some places even more!

QDEM2854_01.JPG


It is better I forget about the wonderful array of fresh herbs for some weeks...Impossible to find such herbs these days...

SDPA1592_01.JPG


This hard period can go on for long months if the weather keeps on being bad and if we get another cyclone coming up...

XZNX6829_01.JPG


In my bistro I use quite a lot of chilies...I don't have a choice here...I have to buy it despite the high price!

AMRP4741_01.JPG


When we get cyclones/bad weather, the after effects are very bad for the whole population! From my side, after losing 3 days of revenue, I had to close my bistro for 3 consecutive days...now I will have to spend more when buying raw products...

I just hope that this period ends as soon as possible and we keep getting some great weather until all the plants are back producing wonderful veggies for us!

How is it in your country after you experience some natural hazards?

Thanks so much for stopping by and reading my post!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

Leading to higher prices :'(

@progressivechef, this is really pathetic DEAR.

the natural disaster is really putting lots of pains in peoples life, but the did has been done and it's not gonna last for ever but for few times, and later everything will normalise, so you guys just have to endure it for the time being.

I am so sorry to hear about the consequences of the hurricane for your country and for yourself. I hope that you will have your wish come true and that there will be nice weather from now on and lots of fresh vegetables in the near future.
In the Netherlands, there was a severe storm, a couple of days ago, no hurricane, but a very severe storm. Two people died and there was almost 100 million euro damage on houses, cars etc.

Dang. I hope things work since I know I love my vegetables.

I'm sorry to hear about the damage, but also very glad that you're OK. If I could send you some vegetables on the blockchain, I would.

Hey @progressivechef, looks like your market had great quality produce before the cyclone hit, that corn looks really fresh. By the way, I nominated you take part in the Seven Day Black and White Photo Challenge in my last post.

That is a rough situation, for sure. I guess your greens will recover first. And then some of the fast-growing vegetables like the courgettes. As a chef and restaurant owner, can you be flexible about what you offer? Or do people expect the same foods you've had, no matter what? Here's to a rapid recovery for everyone in your area. Loss of food crops is such a challenge!

I am really sorry about the natural disaster. In my country we didn't have any apples because of the frost at the beginning of the flowering period! thats the force of the nature!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50