My Passion

in #life6 years ago

Hey guys....I would be telling a story, and I hope someone gets inspired.

sitting-happy-student-28118592.jpg

I gained admission into the university of uyo, akwa- ibom state, nigeria in 2012 to study marketing. It wasn't my dream course though, but I was still excited because it marked the dawn of another beautiful phase of my life.

Undergraduate-Studies-England.jpg

As usual preparations began, school fees, accommodation, and of course the most stressful part- screening. Notwithstanding, I pulled through and got the long awaited Registration Number which qualified me as an undergraduate instead of a jambite/jambito.

stock-photo-sad-female-student-with-learning-difficulties-189760064.jpg

Just as I was about to heave a sigh of relief that I'm on track, we had the 'June 12, 2013' strike, as a result of crisis in school. As if that was not enough, there came the Almighty Asuu strike of 2013 which lasted for a very long time. I called someone I knew to know when we would likely get back to school and this was her response, "abby dear, just go learn a trade or skill, this would be a very long one".

I was so disappointed. Just when I was about to do shakara as per undergraduate, my dream was put on pause. Afterwards, I said to myself, " school just got on pause and not me". Having said that, I moved out there to get myself busy while I wait for resumption. I got a job in a primary school and was assigned to teach primary six and of course to be paid peanuts. After some time, I found out I was beginning to get attached to my pupils.

IMG_20180122_235423_529.jpg

I just had this connection and a great rapport with them, and then it just hit me that I would just love to do this full time.

So at '19', I had my first teaching experience.(it was and is still my passion). By the end of that year, schools resumed, and I went back to school but deep inside me, I just made a great discovery of who I really am- a teacher. So I developed myself towards my passion and still studied hard in school too. I am a graduate today (marketing, B.sc), and also a proud teacher.

PhotoGrid_1502973623506.jpg

That Asuu strike was a disappointment that became an opportunity to discover a better part of me.

P.S: when it seems your dream is on pause mode, just know that it's not your life that got paused. The remote device is just there in your hands to press the play button and move ahead in other directions. 'Always remember that you are in charge'.

#steemitrocks!!
U5dt7bP8AqqqgZD55GnTU6L2h34Vp4d.gif

Sort:  

I really love this piece. In every goal pursuit, one ought to have a fighting spirit and when it seems like what we are aiming at doesn't really go well, we switch to alternatives, who knows just like you, you may just discover what else you are good at.... Nice one dear
#hug-challenge
#air-clinic

I would call this self-discovery. Even in the midst of your disappointment, you took charge of your life....nice one dear.
#hug-challenge
#air-clinic

Thanks a lot dearies, we fight and don't quit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71219.01
ETH 3807.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50